DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: "Couldn't connect" error when trying to use voice input?

  1. Senior Droid
    liguy257's Avatar
    Member #
    5696
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    112
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    "Couldn't connect" error when trying to use voice input?

    I don't get this... I find the voice input option pretty helpful and it's pretty accurate as long as you speak very clearly (and if not it can lead some pretty hysterical misunderstandings...). One issue I have a lot of times though is that I press the button, say the phrase, and then the circle just spins and spins until I get an error message that says something like "Cannot connect to Server" or "Couldn't Connect".

    I don't understand this at all. It's not a networked feature, what does a server or network error have to do with it? It's not like it doesn't work at all either, it comes up, lets me speak, and then looks like it grabbed what I said, it just can't process it.

    It's one of those things that I need an explanation for because I don't understand it.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Newbie
    RickM's Avatar
    Member #
    320665
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    S3
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by liguy257 View Post
    I don't get this... I find the voice input option pretty helpful and it's pretty accurate as long as you speak very clearly (and if not it can lead some pretty hysterical misunderstandings...). One issue I have a lot of times though is that I press the button, say the phrase, and then the circle just spins and spins until I get an error message that says something like "Cannot connect to Server" or "Couldn't Connect".

    I don't understand this at all. It's not a networked feature, what does a server or network error have to do with it? It's not like it doesn't work at all either, it comes up, lets me speak, and then looks like it grabbed what I said, it just can't process it.

    It's one of those things that I need an explanation for because I don't understand it.



    I believe this feature does make use of a recognition DB on remote servers. This is the same with the iPhone Siri service.

    I have the same problem as well, but only when I enter an area where I automatically connect to one of my cable company's WiFi hotspots. The phone connects but this particular hotspot has a very weak signal. After connected NOTHING goes through. In fact it may be an issue with their hardware. In any case I have to go to Wifi and turn it off in order to connect via Verizon 3/4G. Then it works.

    BTW, is there a quicker way to switch from wifi to cell service?
  4. Droid Newbie
    cobraa's Avatar
    Member #
    320979
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone x2
    #3

    3G

    I have to have a 3G signal to use voice input. If I don't have a 3G signal I get the message you are talking about.
  5. Droid Newbie
    RickM's Avatar
    Member #
    320665
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    S3
    #4
    It appears to work as long as you access to the internet.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. "Connection Error" for incoming email (IMAP Server)
    By Todd in SD in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 08:09 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-23-2010, 12:45 PM
  3. weird error help "error running priveleges"!?
    By dfine06 in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 81
    Last Post: 04-19-2010, 12:17 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 11:08 AM
  5. Replies: 30
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 02:30 PM

Search tags for this page

android speech to text couldn't connect
,

android voice input couldn't connect

,
android voice search couldn't connect
,
connection error voice input
,
no connection for speech input
,
samsung galaxy s2 couldn't connect to voice to text
,
samsung galaxy s3 voice to text couldn't connect
,

voice input cannot connect

,

voice search cannot connect

,
voice to text cannot connect
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+