DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: "Use wireless networks"/GPS

  1. mynameiserich's Avatar
    Member #
    10675
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    92
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    "Use wireless networks"/GPS

    Hello all,

    One thing I absolutely want to work on my phone is my weather app using geolocation to determine my location and give me the current locations weather. I really enjoy this feature, and I know the app only accesses the GPS for a quick second every so often to determine location. I do want my battery to be really good as well though. If I leave on "Use wireless networks" does this automatically turn my Wifi on? I know that kills the battery quick. Or will it just turn it on for a brief second when needed to determine my location?

    Thanks in advance
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    Caindris's Avatar
    Member #
    9899
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    64
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #2
    Use wireless network, Use GPS, and Use Wifi are all different settings. You don't need to have GPS turned on to update the weather app - atleast not if you use any sane weather app. GPS for weather would be a bit overkill unless you're expecting a localized thunder storm over only your house.

    The Use Wireless that you're inquiring to is bouncing off the cell towers... which it does anyway unless you disable this setting or go into airplane mode.
  4. mynameiserich's Avatar
    Member #
    10675
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    92
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #3
    Yeah but for it to update at my current location (when i am at work it automatically changes to that town and when at home it changes to that town) I am assuming it uses GPS and or cell towers. And does dissabling the cell towers save battery?
  5. Droid
    Caindris's Avatar
    Member #
    9899
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    64
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by mynameiserich View Post
    Yeah but for it to update at my current location (when i am at work it automatically changes to that town and when at home it changes to that town) I am assuming it uses GPS and or cell towers. And does dissabling the cell towers save battery?
    Well yes.. I mean all phones use cell towers to detect your current location and update accordingly. There's no need for GPS for this. If you disable the cell towers that will save your battery but you may as well turn off your phone because all you have if a fancy paperweight that can't get phone calls.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 41
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 08:37 AM
  2. "Loading Data, Please Wait..." and Force Close messages
    By skidemn in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 05:51 PM
  3. Droid is stuck on boot loader screen saying "battery low can not program"
    By Xerozix in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-29-2009, 04:35 PM
  4. Maps - how to "save" a "place" ... work around.
    By rdalemercer in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 11:34 AM
  5. "select all"? "check all"?
    By santoro1200 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 11:28 AM

Search tags for this page

android use wireless networks
,
droid phone use wireless networks
,

droid use wireless networks

,
gps use wireless networks
,
my location use wireless networks
,

use wireless networks android

,
use wireless networks android my location
,
use wireless networks droid
,
what is use wireless networks
,
what is use wireless networks android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+