DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: youtube high quality

  1. Droid
    w0lfinator's Avatar
    Member #
    2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    62
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #1

    youtube high quality

    Has anyone heard of anyway to 'lock' high quality on youtube?? I am never going to watch a youtube video in low quality(the default load of the video), i change it to high quality immediately on opening the video.. Is there anyway to lock this setting so I don't have to always go to settings and hit High Quality?
  2. Master Droid
    Googleaddict's Avatar
    Member #
    11451
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver Colorado
    Posts
    599
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid, Droid X
    #2
    I dont think you can.When you watch youtube videos on wifi it does automatically play as high quality
  3. Droid Ninja
    640k's Avatar
    Member #
    565
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,124
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Googleaddict View Post
    I dont think you can.When you watch youtube videos on wifi it does automatically play as high quality
    it does??? are you sure? i'll have to check that out. seems like i've always had to select it, no matter what network i'm on.

    HQ kind of pisses me off tho. not sure why the videos are THAT much more data that it takes 5x as long to load on 3G.
  4. Droid Sensei
    JhankG's Avatar
    Member #
    250
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Summerfield, NC
    Posts
    3,098
    Phone
    Droid X
    #4
    We can only hope this becomes an option in an update. With such a beautiful screen and unlimited data, why wouldn't we always want the videos to play in HQ?
  5. Droid Ninja
    640k's Avatar
    Member #
    565
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,124
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by JhankG View Post
    We can only hope this becomes an option in an update. With such a beautiful screen and unlimited data, why wouldn't we always want the videos to play in HQ?
    probably for the reasons i just posted... it takes 5x as long to load an HQ video as it does SQ.
  6. Droid Sensei
    JhankG's Avatar
    Member #
    250
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Summerfield, NC
    Posts
    3,098
    Phone
    Droid X
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by 640k View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by JhankG View Post
    We can only hope this becomes an option in an update. With such a beautiful screen and unlimited data, why wouldn't we always want the videos to play in HQ?
    probably for the reasons i just posted... it takes 5x as long to load an HQ video as it does SQ.

    I have noticed a small difference in loading time, but not enough to keep me from switching to HQ each time...
  7. Junior Droid
    Thanassi44's Avatar
    Member #
    3197
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Astoria, NY
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    agreed. I want HQ default also. I've only noticed an extra second or 2 of typical loading time and I can definitely live with that. choosing the option for every video is annoying.
  8. Master Droid
    darreno1's Avatar
    Member #
    2769
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    528
    Phone
    Droid X
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by JhankG View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by 640k View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by JhankG View Post
    We can only hope this becomes an option in an update. With such a beautiful screen and unlimited data, why wouldn't we always want the videos to play in HQ?
    probably for the reasons i just posted... it takes 5x as long to load an HQ video as it does SQ.

    I have noticed a small difference in loading time, but not enough to keep me from switching to HQ each time...

    Have to agree here as well. The difference in load time is hardly an issue for me for the most part. I hope this becomes an option.
  9. Super Moderator
    New2u's Avatar
    Member #
    21
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Posts
    3,628
    Liked
    28 times
    Phone
    Note 3
    Premium Member
    #9
    When i did it, i could barely notice the difference in load time. I would like an option, not saying I would use it, but it would be nice to at least have the option to lock it in.
    Resistance is futile.

    On 11/16/2009 DroidNet Became Aware
  10. Master Droid
    boatman2220's Avatar
    Member #
    12437
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    473
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by 640k View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Googleaddict View Post
    I dont think you can.When you watch youtube videos on wifi it does automatically play as high quality
    it does??? are you sure? i'll have to check that out. seems like i've always had to select it, no matter what network i'm on.

    HQ kind of pisses me off tho. not sure why the videos are THAT much more data that it takes 5x as long to load on 3G.
    Yep if you watch YouTube on Wi-Fi it is in high quality, touch the menu button as you would to get high quality on 3G and you are asked if you want to watch in normal mode.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Voice Recorder: High quality for lectures
    By xMyStiCx in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 10:56 PM
  2. droid app for auto high quality video?
    By chomorro in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 11:12 PM
  3. Need Quality In Ear Buds, with Mic
    By bbianchi in forum Android Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-18-2009, 10:50 PM
  4. Any games like Surviving High School?
    By kevind in forum Android Games
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-16-2009, 06:37 PM
  5. Why are all of the games such low quality?
    By Tadas T in forum Android Games
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-14-2009, 11:53 AM

Search tags for this page

do high quality videos on youtube use more data?
,
droid why does it take so long to load youtube videos
,
droid youtube high quality
,
my htc thunderbolt is taking too long to play youtube videos
,
never play higher quality on youtube, android
,

why do my hq videos on youtube lag on my droid incredible 2

,
why does my droid take so long to watch a video
,
why does youtube take so long to change quality
,

why does youtube take so long to load on my android

,
why is my videos taking so long to load on my android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+