DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Droid: GPS or AGPS?

  1. Official_n00b's Avatar
    Member #
    87803
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    30
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Droid: GPS or AGPS?

    Ok, I realize the Droid has GPS and navigation on the phone. But I'm commonly in the middle of nowhere and in areas that do not offer cell coverage.

    My old phone (Nokia E71) had TRUE GPS. It used the actual satellites to give your GPS location (also had AGPS). Does the Droid have true GPS or only AGPS?

    I'm trying to determine if I should sell my old phone or keep it. If the Droid has true GPS, I'll sell it. But if it's only AGPS, I'll keep the old phone for the GPS.
  2. Developer
    garrett's Avatar
    Member #
    180
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    In a van by the River......
    Posts
    2,019
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Johns Phone
    DroidForums.net Developer
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #2
    the droid has and uses both
  3. Master Droid
    diverbelow's Avatar
    Member #
    24228
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Vancouver WA
    Posts
    344
    Twitter
    rkwilson07
    Phone
    Droid Charge
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Official_n00b View Post
    Ok, I realize the Droid has GPS and navigation on the phone. But I'm commonly in the middle of nowhere and in areas that do not offer cell coverage.

    My old phone (Nokia E71) had TRUE GPS. It used the actual satellites to give your GPS location (also had AGPS). Does the Droid have true GPS or only AGPS?

    I'm trying to determine if I should sell my old phone or keep it. If the Droid has true GPS, I'll sell it. But if it's only AGPS, I'll keep the old phone for the GPS.
    The Droid has GPS & AGPS.
  4. Master Droid
    dylanthecat's Avatar
    Member #
    10762
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    632
    Phone
    Droid
    #4
    If you are using Google Nav, it won't work well without cell coverage cause it can't download new maps for your area.
    --Robert

    "Peace through superior firepower" requires actual firepower, not just a trite bumper sticker.
  5. Droid
    Sileem's Avatar
    Member #
    62235
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    98
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by dylanthecat View Post
    If you are using Google Nav, it won't work well without cell coverage cause it can't download new maps for your area.
    This, you need to be in 3G area's to download maps (And I believe 1X works too)
    I learned this the hard way :/
  6. Developer
    garrett's Avatar
    Member #
    180
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    In a van by the River......
    Posts
    2,019
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Johns Phone
    DroidForums.net Developer
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Sileem View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by dylanthecat View Post
    If you are using Google Nav, it won't work well without cell coverage cause it can't download new maps for your area.
    This, you need to be in 3G area's to download maps (And I believe 1X works too)
    I learned this the hard way :/

    yeah 1x works too but its painfully slow......
  7. Junior Droid
    dakster's Avatar
    Member #
    40662
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    29
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    I looked into this in detail before I went overseas with my droid. The droid does indeed work in standalone GPS mode.

    However, you *have* to have the cdma voice radio turned on in order to get the initial position fix. Data can be disabled (through the testing menu, #*#*INFO*#*# or something). If you have both data and voice radios disabled, you won't be able to get the initial position lock, unless you've very recently had a GPS lock.

    Once you do have a gps fix though, you can completely turn off the cdma radios (airplane mode, or whatever), and GPS will continue to work fine.

    You don't need to have any kind of CDMA signal for this to work (you could be in the middle of the ocean), but there's some strange electrical wiring reason the CDMA voice radio has to be on for that initial fix.

    Of course you'd need some sort of offline mapping program that has teh maps saved to your SD card. I think Mapdroyd is popular. I use maverick pro myself.
  8. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Official_n00b View Post
    Does the Droid have true GPS or only AGPS?
    You don't understand what aGPS means. aGPS is "true GPS". It just uses data from assistance servers to speed up the receiver's ability to obtain an initial fix. GPS receivers that only operate in standalone do not use assistance servers. The Droid will fall back to standalone if it has to.

    You're thinking of triangulation which is something else entirely. I know it's popular for people to use "GPS" to mean any method of determining location but GPS, by definition, uses the GPS satellites. That includes aGPS (or else it wouldn't have the letters GPS in its acronym). Any other method, whether it's triangulation, WiFi-based, etc isn't GPS.

    Wikipedia isn't my favorite resource but here's more reading if you want it:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assisted_GPS


    That said, I suspect that some incidents I've had with getting a fix may be aGPS-related. I've never had such issues with devices that operated only in standalone mode.
    Last edited by takeshi; 07-21-2010 at 08:38 AM.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid - gps & agps
    By JimMariner in forum Droid FAQ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2009, 07:54 PM

Search tags for this page

android gps vs agps
,
does droid x have a real gps
,

does droid x have real gps

,
does motorola droid have true gps
,
does the droid x use true gps?
,
droid x gps real
,

droid x real gps

,

motorola agps

,
verizon true gps
,
x ture cps
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+