DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 3G slower by the day...

1. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    motorola droid

3G slower by the day...

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the droid and smartphones in general. While i have maany questions, this is one i would like a few expert answers on.

When i first got the moto droid, i was amazed at the internet speed. Hell, it was close to dsl speeds.

Forward ahead 3 months, and the speed is becoming a bigger concern everyday.

I live in the middle of nowhere Ohio, so i dont expect blazing speeds at home. But recently, 3G had slowed even in "good areas." (Eg. In sight of a tower.)

I've exchanged phones done resets, cleared memory, installed hybrid prl, but still slower by the day.

I understand that vzw is adding about 150,000 new users to the network each day. Can they possibly keep up with this demand?

I'm wondering how long it will be before were all holding bricks...

Any answer or advice is greatly appreciated

Thanks
    Mark
    Midohiomemorials@yahoo.com
  2. Master Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Motorola Droid - Verizon
    you raise a good point and quite a few people were telling me similar in the cm koush irc channel today. when I first got the droid I was hitting roughly 2mbits/s up and down.

today i got like 75kbits/s down and 100kbits up.

tried new kernels, walked around, reflashed..etc maxed 350kb/s

not even close to my orginal speeds. Youtube is impossible to play and streaming audio is constantly dropping. I don't know if they are lowering speeds or maybe I just have a local net issue (the tower is visible from the house) usually i run a perfect signal in my area.

but that is a SUBSTANTIAL drop in quality and speed. hopefully it gets sorted

note: i think the 150k/per day thing wasn't verizon specific.. that was google phone activations from all carriers.
  3. Master Droid