DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Switching data over to new Droid?

  1. Junior Droid
    Habs Forever's Avatar
    Member #
    19371
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hawthorne, NJ
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Switching data over to new Droid?

    Hello...I just got a new Moto Droid sent to me from Verizon after my old one fell victim to a really aggravating virus, although it still is able to function somewhat well. How can I get my contacts over to the new one?

    What about the apps I paid for? Will I have to pay for them all again?

    Any other words of advice?

    Thank you very much.
  2. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Habs Forever View Post
    Hello...I just got a new Moto Droid sent to me from Verizon after my old one fell victim to a really aggravating virus, although it still is able to function somewhat well. How can I get my contacts over to the new one?

    What about the apps I paid for? Will I have to pay for them all again?

    Any other words of advice?

    Thank you very much.
    First, I highly doubt you have a virus. That would have to be verified, please don't make claims like that, it only causes panic.

    All your contacts are saved in your Gmail. Remember, this is a google phone and it's all tied together. Gmail, Google, Contacts, Calendar...etc.

    So when you sign in to your new phone all your contacts should automatically transfer over once you sync your gmail account.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  3. Master Droid
    dodgersrgood's Avatar
    Member #
    11351
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    818
    Phone
    moto droid
    #3
    your contacts are linked to your google account so when you sign in they should all sync up. but with your apps i dont know how that works going to a completely different phone. probably just have to re-download them all
  4. Developer
    tcrews's Avatar
    Member #
    31907
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    1,353
    Liked
    64 times
    Twitter
    SnkBitten
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 4
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #4
    All your info is tied to your google account. Sign in on the new phone with your gmail account and your contacts will sync to the phone and your apps should show in the Market under downloads for you to re-download. Paid apps are already paid for (again..info tied to your google account) so you will not have to pay for them again.
    Tom Crews
    SnkBitten - http://android.snkbitten.com/ (OG Droid)
    Motorola Droid, Droid 2, Droid 3 and Droid 4 (all + Root)
    Motorola X DevEd KK 4.4 + Root
    Google Nexus 10 KK 4.4.2 + Root

  5. Premium Member
    Backnblack's Avatar
    Member #
    6311
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    11,279
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    Premium Member
    #5
    If it was a Virus, You should keep that Droid since it would be the First of it's kind...

    But Hook has covered everything else for ya there.
    A gun in the hand is better than a cop on the phone.

    Only the Skilled Survive

    A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.

    Drill Sergeant Frick's Rules For Un-armed Combat.
    1. Never be unarmed.
    2. See Rule #1

    USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.



  6. Junior Droid
    Habs Forever's Avatar
    Member #
    19371
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hawthorne, NJ
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #6
    I figured as much. I'm very computer savvy, not so much for phones, but when the guy at the Verizon Store (the Route 17 location in Paramus, NJ for those local) said I simply had a virus, I kind of got the feeling he was saying this out of sheer confusion, as I had never heard of anything like this.

    I'm charging the newest one now. I plan on trying to switch everything a little later.

    Should I switch the memory cards out?
  7. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Habs Forever View Post
    I figured as much. I'm very computer savvy, not so much for phones, but when the guy at the Verizon Store (the Route 17 location in Paramus, NJ for those local) said I simply had a virus, I kind of got the feeling he was saying this out of sheer confusion, as I had never heard of anything like this.

    I'm charging the newest one now. I plan on trying to switch everything a little later.

    Should I switch the memory cards out?
    I can't tell you how angry that makes me. Not at you but the rep.

    Can you guys imagine this, Verizon reps telling people they have viruses!
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  8. Junior Droid
    Habs Forever's Avatar
    Member #
    19371
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hawthorne, NJ
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    Same for me as well. I kind of got the feeling he didn't really know what he was saying. Usually a decent Verizon store, too...

    Can you root a completely updated Droid now? I remember previously when I wanted to root it, I had updated it already to a version unable to root.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. OK so I am still very new to Droid but may be switching already....
    By rayjj in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 02:21 PM
  2. Droid constantly switching from 3G to 1x
    By ultremann in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-29-2010, 07:24 AM
  3. Switching from Storm 2 to Droid
    By jakemerrell in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 01:39 AM
  4. Switching from iPhone to Droid
    By Chad H in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 08:33 AM

Search tags for this page

how do i transfer my contacts from my old droid to my new dr
,
how to get contacts from old droid to new droid
,
how to switch over contacts on droids
,

how to transfer contacts from old droid to new droid

,
how to transfer contacts to new droid from old droid
,
how to transfer my data to new droid
,

transfer contacts from old droid to new droid

,
transfer contacts old droid new droid
,
transfer infoto new droid
,
transferring contacts from old droid to new droid
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+