DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: A Complicated "Default Action" Undo?...

  1. Droid
    jrredho's Avatar
    Member #
    20446
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    79
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    moto driod
    #1

    A Complicated "Default Action" Undo?...

    Hey All,

    I've managed to set a default action that I'd like to undo, but cannot for the life of me figure out how to do it. Here's how I got there:

    I did a voice search, which took me to a web page of choices using Browser (this in itself is weird because I *think* I've set my default browser to xScope). I was looking for a business, and when I pressed a map in the Browser, the app queried for whether or not I wanted to use Google Maps to open the map. I responded picking 'Yes'. Then, unexpectedly, I was queried a second time on which app I'd like to use from among three options, Browser, Google Maps, or xScope, and whether or not I wanted to make that the default. I picked that I did want to make it the default action, then incorrectly picked xScope (I wanted Google Maps).

    Anyway I tried going to the search app, Browser, etc, and I cannot figure out how to unset that darn default. Can anyone out there offer up some suggestions I might try to use to get that done? (If it's obvious, I apologize in advance...)

    many thanks,
    john
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #2
    Settings < Applications < Manage < XScope < Clear Defaults

    Might have to do it with the other apps. You can also reset all defaults, but if this works, there's no point.
  4. Droid
    jrredho's Avatar
    Member #
    20446
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    79
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    moto driod
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by LtKen View Post
    Settings < Applications < Manage < XScope < Clear Defaults

    Might have to do it with the other apps. You can also reset all defaults, but if this works, there's no point.
    Uh oh, that's looking like it should have been obvious...
  5. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #4
    Now it is Have fun.
  6. Master Droid
    rjax's Avatar
    Member #
    3345
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    410
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    FYI, Voice Search results open in a custom Voice Search browser -- as far as I know, there's no way around that if you're not rooted like me. I'm not even sure if you can change that if you are rooted.
  7. Droid
    jrredho's Avatar
    Member #
    20446
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    79
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    moto driod
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by rjax View Post
    FYI, Voice Search results open in a custom Voice Search browser -- as far as I know, there's no way around that if you're not rooted like me. I'm not even sure if you can change that if you are rooted.
    You know, I was wondering about that; I just assumed that it was the same as Browser. Certainly whichever browser it is, one cannot manage either through the settings<applications<manage menu.

    Maybe this won't be as easy as I'm hoping it will be...

    cheers,
    john
  8. Droid Newbie
    Cntrollerfanboy's Avatar
    Member #
    114586
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    LG Ally
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by LtKen View Post
    Settings < Applications < Manage < XScope < Clear Defaults

    Might have to do it with the other apps. You can also reset all defaults, but if this works, there's no point.
    I am having this same problem and don't know how to fix it in my case. (I have the LG Ally) Now I understand the process of going into setting and reseting the defaults but I downloaded Zedge which is a pretty popular rington and wallpaper app ( dontknow if you have it or not) but I downloaded some ringtones and some of which were short for notificications. And at first it would ask me what place I would want to choose my notification sound from, zedge or the default sounds. And it hit default zedge but then the sounds didn't work so I unstalled zedge and it gave me back my default ringtones (but I could have used your process and cleared defaults) but nowww I hit use default and used the regualr tones and because the messeging app isn't under the applications I can't do that. So how could I get the choose which default option to come back up?

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. "Complete action using" Default Question
    By MontyMo in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-08-2012, 05:17 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-11-2012, 11:44 AM
  3. No "undo" feature on the Droid?
    By corvettemit in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-31-2010, 12:20 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 10:20 AM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 09:29 PM

Search tags for this page

android undo complete action using

,
android undo use by default for this action
,
complete action using android reset maps
,

how to reset android default actions

,
how to undo complete action using
,
how to undo using complete action
,
undo use by default for this action
,

undo use default action android

,

use by default for this action reset

,
use by default for this action reset wallpaper
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+