DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Some help me with this root process im so confused

  1. Master Droid
    movadoevo8's Avatar
    Member #
    20152
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    257
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Some help me with this root process im so confused

    I want to do "ESE81 Completely Stock With Proper Root, SU, & Baseband"

    I heard what that does it let's me go back to 2.0.1 from my ota 2.1 that i'm currently running 100% complete stock.

    I never rooted before, but i'm very computer savy i'm an IT guy. When i go here http://alldroid.org/threads/16669-ES...U-amp-Baseband It tells you to download certain files and to use SPRecover or Clockworkmod, the problem is i have no clue where I can get that.. Can someone put together a complete step by step instructions how to root this way the way PETE mentioned.

    The only problem with his post it's more for an advance user who has rooted before and flashed roms before, someone like myself is like "huh! huh!" confused and feel like such a noob because there is a bunch of steps missing.

    If someone could put together an instruction step by step i would greatly appreciate it. I'm sure there are other people that have never rooted and are afraid to do it as well. My purpose to ROOT is so i can continue to run 2.1 like the OTA like I am now, but just over clock my phone to at least 800mhz or 1ghz. Thanks in advanced.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. RS Admin
    christim's Avatar
    Member #
    30681
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,115
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto-Droid - rooted
    Premium Member
    #2
    Good post. We know where you are and where you want to end up.

    I think an easy thread is the 3rd one in my sig, but I did write it so that makes it easier for me to understand.

    Give that a read-through and post any questions you might have. To get the overclocked kernel you will need to install a kernel and get an app from the market such as SetCPU. Those things aren't covered in that link. Installing SPRecovery is though.
    Chris

    If you apply a rom or theme - backup first!
    If you don't know how to backup...Stop until you do.
    hint: I name my backups like this: sg6.0_20100428 or ss4.2_20100626 to easily find them later. rom and date.


    Have a Problem, Click here to Visit the Rescue Squad
  4. Master Droid
    movadoevo8's Avatar
    Member #
    20152
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    257
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by christim View Post
    Good post. We know where you are and where you want to end up.

    I think an easy thread is the 3rd one in my sig, but I did write it so that makes it easier for me to understand.

    Give that a read-through and post any questions you might have. To get the overclocked kernel you will need to install a kernel and get an app from the market such as SetCPU. Those things aren't covered in that link. Installing SPRecovery is though.
    Thanks a lot I will attempt it tomorrow.
  5. Master Droid
    movadoevo8's Avatar
    Member #
    20152
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    257
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by christim View Post
    Good post. We know where you are and where you want to end up.

    I think an easy thread is the 3rd one in my sig, but I did write it so that makes it easier for me to understand.

    Give that a read-through and post any questions you might have. To get the overclocked kernel you will need to install a kernel and get an app from the market such as SetCPU. Those things aren't covered in that link. Installing SPRecovery is though.
    Ok your instructions worked and i was able to root 2.1 and it know says 2.1 by pete and also i have the super user premission icon. Now that i'm rooted i can use ROM Manager from market to install ROMS ? I need to install a ROM in order to over clock right?

    Installing a ROM = same as a KERNEL ? does it mean the same thing? Or me having petes 2.1 rooted is the ROM and i need to install a KERNEL? Where can i download one and install it how do i do it? Thanks.
  6. Master Droid
    movadoevo8's Avatar
    Member #
    20152
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    257
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by christim View Post
    Good post. We know where you are and where you want to end up.

    I think an easy thread is the 3rd one in my sig, but I did write it so that makes it easier for me to understand.

    Give that a read-through and post any questions you might have. To get the overclocked kernel you will need to install a kernel and get an app from the market such as SetCPU. Those things aren't covered in that link. Installing SPRecovery is though.
    Hey I went back to my pc and I rooted and it worked. Then I downloaded chevys 5.6:2 kernel and download setcpu from the market and am now rooted with stock 2.1 by pete and overclocked to 1ghz. What a difference that I even installed helix2 and removed helix1 bc its so fast now. If I use helix1 its lightning fast, but helix2 still fas as heck at 1ghz so I'm using helix2 bc of the 3d app drawer and apple like icon dock station.

    Also what's this baseband thing I've been reading about) I have not changed it at least I don't think I did, does it matter? How important is it?

    Sorry about my spelling its 2;10am and half asleep posting from my droid phone.
  7. RS Admin
    christim's Avatar
    Member #
    30681
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,115
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto-Droid - rooted
    Premium Member
    #6
    rom <> kernel.

    Sort of like this, or close enough anyways:
    kernel = underlying os. ie: windows 95,98,xp,vista,etc It interfaces with the hardware
    Rom= the gui, programs, etc that run on top of the kernel.

    I see you did some research too, and got overclocked, congrats!

    Here are some kernels, and there are others out here you can search for: [Release] Smoked Glass Boots *Updated 03/08* (ALL Builds/Voltages - 42 Kernels)
    [UPDATE] New Kernels - Low Voltage + Medium Voltage - 3/25/2010

    The ese81 rooted rom is just that, the stock rom, plus the ability to overwrite any file you want, for better or worse. No oc'ing of the kernel....which you know now.

    Visit the rom section here. Read the feature list for each one along with its install. Many roms come with oc'able kernels.
    Chris

    If you apply a rom or theme - backup first!
    If you don't know how to backup...Stop until you do.
    hint: I name my backups like this: sg6.0_20100428 or ss4.2_20100626 to easily find them later. rom and date.


    Have a Problem, Click here to Visit the Rescue Squad
  8. Master Droid
    movadoevo8's Avatar
    Member #
    20152
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    257
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by christim View Post
    rom <> kernel.

    Sort of like this, or close enough anyways:
    kernel = underlying os. ie: windows 95,98,xp,vista,etc It interfaces with the hardware
    Rom= the gui, programs, etc that run on top of the kernel.

    I see you did some research too, and got overclocked, congrats!

    Here are some kernels, and there are others out here you can search for: [Release] Smoked Glass Boots *Updated 03/08* (ALL Builds/Voltages - 42 Kernels)
    [UPDATE] New Kernels - Low Voltage + Medium Voltage - 3/25/2010

    The ese81 rooted rom is just that, the stock rom, plus the ability to overwrite any file you want, for better or worse. No oc'ing of the kernel....which you know now.

    Visit the rom section here. Read the feature list for each one along with its install. Many roms come with oc'able kernels.
    Thanks for making me understan what kernel and roms are. The windows comparims cleared it all up.

    Question everytime I want to flash a new rom do I need to wype my phone like the first time I had to root? Or can I simply just put the update.zip file on my sd card and reboot intl SVPRecovery and install it that way.

    Do I some how have to remove my current rom first? Can you educate me a little on how to be able to switch between roms at anytime I want.

    Last question... I got chevys 1ghz kernel, but setcpu installed will this allow me to chqnge the overclock settings even though chevys is set to 1ghz? I mean when I change the profile settings up top I see the speeds changing so I think its working when I tell it to underclock on certain situtations. Thanks for your help.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. noobie that wants to root his phone,but confused
    By wolfmann in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-25-2010, 10:53 PM
  2. process: com.google.process.gapps
    By february17th in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 12:46 PM
  3. Root and ROM process question
    By Mozuna01 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 11:49 PM
  4. Figured out how to root, but confused about backup and SPRecovery
    By the5rivers in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 08:28 PM
  5. The process android.process.acore has stopped unexpectedly...
    By mchoffa in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2009, 07:34 AM

Search tags for this page

clockworkmod ed04 fascinate

,

ed04 root fasinate

,

how to get a rom during root process?

,

im rooted, now what

,

processim forum

,

root androi baseband ed04

,

root clockwokmod facinate ed04

,

root ed04

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+