DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Calling from Canada

  1. Master Droid
    arty2hottie's Avatar
    Member #
    13185
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    361
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    GNEX
    #1

    Calling from Canada

    Hey just wondering if someone could help me or give the link of where to go. I dont even know what to search.

    Im going to Canada this summer for work (from oregon) and was wondering if there is a way to be able to make calls without having to change my voice plan. I have an old one that is cheap and if I change it I will not be able to go back to it. I will be getting the international data so I can use my data in Canada. That is costing me an arm and a leg by the way but I have to have my email and data haha.

    I have google voice which will help for text but I dont think it will help for making calls from Canada. You guys have any suggestions or do I have to change my plan? Thanks
  2. Premium Member
    Backnblack's Avatar
    Member #
    6311
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    11,279
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    Premium Member
    #2
    Get a cheap flip and a sim from a carrier up there....
    A gun in the hand is better than a cop on the phone.

    Only the Skilled Survive

    A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.

    Drill Sergeant Frick's Rules For Un-armed Combat.
    1. Never be unarmed.
    2. See Rule #1

    USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.



  3. RS Admin
    pc747's Avatar
    Member #
    18832
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16,643
    Liked
    1699 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    #3
    do they have tracfone up there....
    maybe use skype.
  4. Master Droid
    arty2hottie's Avatar
    Member #
    13185
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    361
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    GNEX
    #4
    By the way I have a droid. I will be in Victoria Canada.

    What would buying a cheap flip and getting a sim do?
  5. Droid
    chrisnoxid's Avatar
    Member #
    36959
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada eh
    Posts
    66
    Phone
    Telus Milestone 2.1
    #5
    no skype up here
  6. Premium Member
    Backnblack's Avatar
    Member #
    6311
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    11,279
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by arty2hottie View Post
    By the way I have a droid. I will be in Victoria Canada.

    What would buying a cheap flip and getting a sim do?
    Make cheap calls with it and use your droid for data.
    A gun in the hand is better than a cop on the phone.

    Only the Skilled Survive

    A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.

    Drill Sergeant Frick's Rules For Un-armed Combat.
    1. Never be unarmed.
    2. See Rule #1

    USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.



  7. Master Droid
    arty2hottie's Avatar
    Member #
    13185
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    361
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    GNEX
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisnoxid View Post
    no skype up here
    I didnt even think about skype but I guess that is not an option for me? What if I use my data to use skype to call from Canada?
  8. Master Droid
    arty2hottie's Avatar
    Member #
    13185
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    361
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    GNEX
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Backnblack View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by arty2hottie View Post
    By the way I have a droid. I will be in Victoria Canada.

    What would buying a cheap flip and getting a sim do?
    Make cheap calls with it and use your droid for data.
    Thats a thought. I will have to look into what a cheap plan would be there.
  9. Master Droid
    smokiedabong's Avatar
    Member #
    19064
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    997
    Liked
    100 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #9
    If you have a data plan you can also setup your Google Voice account on Sipdroid using sipgate and sipsorcery to make free VoIP calls on any US number . You need a decent data signal for it to work , but it works great .
  10. Master Droid
    arty2hottie's Avatar
    Member #
    13185
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    361
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    GNEX
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by smokiedabong View Post
    If you have a data plan you can also setup your Google Voice account on Sipdroid using sipgate and sipsorcery to make free VoIP calls on any US number . You need a decent data signal for it to work , but it works great .
    Is there a thread that tells you how to do this?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Telus Milestone on Bell (in Canada).
    By luggage in forum Motorola Milestone
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 02:58 PM
  2. Droid in Canada
    By grimm_jow in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-05-2010, 09:29 AM
  3. Oh Canada
    By MrBigDeal in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 09:04 PM
  4. Question about Droid and Canada
    By Bob Dammit in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 01:36 AM
  5. Droid in Canada info
    By haarism in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 07:47 PM

Search tags for this page

add canada to verizon calling plan

,

canada droid

,

do i need to change my verizon plan going to canada

,

do i need to change my verizon plan going to canada?

,

does verizon work in victoria canada

,

how to change verizon plan for canada

,

how to get data in canada from verizon phone free

,

using u.s. verizon phone in victoria, canada

,

verizon how to make calls in victoria canada

,

verizon victoria canada

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+