DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Would someone please explain " cache " on the applications area of the phone ?

  1. Droid
    Rogerdodger's Avatar
    Member #
    58431
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Santa Cruz, Ca.
    Posts
    63
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Would someone please explain " cache " on the applications area of the phone ?

    Hello ----------- I have a general question , and I hope I am posting

    this in the correct area . In the phone ( Droid ) there is a page that has

    all of the applications that are on the screens . There is one place that

    shows the word " Cach " .... What is this and what is it used for ?

    I'm still pretty new to some of this stuff so I would appreciate an

    explanation . Thanks much ... I alway enjoy checking all

    the forums and such around here to see if I can get further along on all of

    this stuff ............. and not have to ask SO many questions .

    Thanks much ..............
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Rescue Squad
    Jonny Kansas's Avatar
    Member #
    29890
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Posts
    2,684
    Liked
    13 times
    Twitter
    Jonny_Ks
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #2

    Re: Would someone please explain " cache " on the applications area of the phone ?

    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cache?wasRedirected=true

    Kinda similar to temporary internet files in a way. I'm sure someone else can clarify a bit more, but this will get you started.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    Ran into a little snag? Have a question? Think your phone is only good to hold down rogue papers in a wind storm now? Visit the Rescue Squad!
  4. Droid Ninja
    AnneDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    26707
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,405
    Phone
    DROID
    #3
    For some reason Jonny's link isn't live, but this one should be. Cache Let us know if that clears it up for you Rodgerdodger!
  5. Rescue Squad
    Jonny Kansas's Avatar
    Member #
    29890
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Posts
    2,684
    Liked
    13 times
    Twitter
    Jonny_Ks
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #4

    Re: Would someone please explain " cache " on the applications area of the phone ?

    My apologies...I think that's a Tapatalk issue. Df doesn't recognize it as a link. Tell me if this works...

    [URL]http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cache?wasRedirected=true[\url]

    Edit: nevermind. It doesn't...on Tapatalk anyway...now I've got work to do to figure this out...Haha!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    Ran into a little snag? Have a question? Think your phone is only good to hold down rogue papers in a wind storm now? Visit the Rescue Squad!
  6. Droid Ninja
    AnneDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    26707
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,405
    Phone
    DROID
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonny Kansas View Post
    My apologies...I think that's a Tapatalk issue. Df doesn't recognize it as a link. Tell me if this works...

    [URL]http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cache?wasRedirected=true[\url]

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

    Nope, only if you copy and paste it into the browser...
  7. Droid
    Rogerdodger's Avatar
    Member #
    58431
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Santa Cruz, Ca.
    Posts
    63
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #6
    Thanks Anne ---- and Johnny Kansas ............

    So ------ if I understand this it is part of the internal operating system in that particular app to help it run right ?
    I guess my REAL question was ---------- Do you EVER touch that particular setting ? Thanks again .
  8. Rescue Squad
    Jonny Kansas's Avatar
    Member #
    29890
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Posts
    2,684
    Liked
    13 times
    Twitter
    Jonny_Ks
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #7

    Re: Would someone please explain " cache " on the applications area of the phone ?

    Sometimes it can get bogged down. Clearing it allows an app to perform better, but COULD lose a little bit of data you don't expect to lose. None of that data should be irreplaceable though. Cache us basically a place where info is stored in order for an app to access it more quickly.

    Most notably, sometimes the Gmail app doesn't seem to sync unless you refresh it automatically. Clearing the cache fixes that issue. However, most users experiencing that issue are rooted and running custom ron's.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    Ran into a little snag? Have a question? Think your phone is only good to hold down rogue papers in a wind storm now? Visit the Rescue Squad!
  9. Master Droid
    vrdubin6's Avatar
    Member #
    26119
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    262
    Phone
    Droid
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Rogerdodger View Post
    Thanks Anne ---- and Johnny Kansas ............

    So ------ if I understand this it is part of the internal operating system in that particular app to help it run right ?
    I guess my REAL question was ---------- Do you EVER touch that particular setting ? Thanks again .
    Yeah you can touch it... some people regularly clear their cache. It will just regenerate cache data. I guess to sum it up it pretty much stores information to help it be quicker by already having certain files cached so it doesnt have to reload them. I usually clear my cache every couple of days just to clean things up.

    Edit... Jonny beat me to it...
    BOISE STATE
  10. Droid Ninja
    AnneDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    26707
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,405
    Phone
    DROID
    #9
    And to add to what Jonny said, apps like Google maps (if you use navigation a lot) accumulate cache and start to slow down a bit. If someone is starting to run slow, that's one of the first things to do is go into Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage applications and clear out the cache. It works wonders sometimes.
  11. Rescue Squad
    Jonny Kansas's Avatar
    Member #
    29890
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Posts
    2,684
    Liked
    13 times
    Twitter
    Jonny_Ks
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #10

    Re: Would someone please explain " cache " on the applications area of the phone ?

    And to add to what Anne said, the same goes for browser history (on the phone OR PC).

    In the stock browser, holding the back button will bring up browsing history. Once there, press menu to clear history.

    In Dolphin, holding the back button gives the option of either exiting, or clearing cache and exiting.

    Personally, I've found issues with Google Buzz not loading properly in the stick browser. After clearing history, it loads fine.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    Ran into a little snag? Have a question? Think your phone is only good to hold down rogue papers in a wind storm now? Visit the Rescue Squad!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Cover "water damage" area on droid
    By olletsocmit in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 02:14 PM
  2. Dialing phone number in "from" or "subject" line of email
    By alazzaro in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 09:10 AM
  3. Dialing phone number in "from" or "subject" line of an emai
    By alazzaro in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 09:08 AM
  4. Could Someone fully explain "minfreemanager" settings or presets???
    By dynomite1371 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 10:22 PM

Search tags for this page

cache on phone

,
cache phone
,
phone cache
,

what is a cache on a phone

,
what is a phone cache
,

what is cache on a phone

,
what is cache on phone
,

what is phone cache

,
what is the cache on a phone
,

what's a cache on a phone

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+