DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Droid failed me. Can't find GPS satellites today.

  1. Senior Droid
    Vanilla Tarantino's Avatar
    Member #
    3682
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    135
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    Droid failed me. Can't find GPS satellites today.

    *PROBLEM RESOLVED* - SOLUTION - The app GPS Status was able to see and lock on to the satellites. All other programs tested which use the satellites (and were previously unable to find them) were then able to find the satellites within seconds of searching.

    I really needed Google Nav earlier today since the one route I knew of to get to my destination was closed for construction and the detour signs were abysmal. Of course, today, for some reason, my Droid has been completely unable to find the GPS satellites. I ended up driving around, lost, for about 30 minutes before I finally figured out where to go, and the Droid was searching the entire time. When leaving, I knew where I needed to go, but still fired up Google Maps again to see if the Droid could find the satellites when I was outside, stationary, under a completely clear sky. After 5 minutes, nothing. Now I decided to try again, and my phone has been searching for the past 10 minutes and still can't find them. I've cycled the GPS radio and restarted the phone, but those don't work either. Google Nav was a huge part of my decision to get this phone and my Droid has completely let me down today. I've never had the problem before, and I've made no major changes to my phone since the last time I used the navigation (last weekend). Does anybody have any suggestions as to why it might not be able to locate them?

    I'm running Cyanogen 5.0.5.3 with the upgraded baseband if it's of use.
    Last edited by Vanilla Tarantino; 04-11-2010 at 04:42 PM.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    Vanilla Tarantino's Avatar
    Member #
    3682
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    135
    Phone
    Droid
    #2
    And I should specify, yes, "Use Wireless Networks" is checked. It can locate my rough location, but not my fine location.
  4. Premium Member
    Backnblack's Avatar
    Member #
    6311
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    11,279
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    Premium Member
    #3
    Do you have another app that uses gps to try?
    A gun in the hand is better than a cop on the phone.

    Only the Skilled Survive

    A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.

    Drill Sergeant Frick's Rules For Un-armed Combat.
    1. Never be unarmed.
    2. See Rule #1

    USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.



  5. Droid
    eliwellis's Avatar
    Member #
    28234
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    Motorola Droid & HTC Eris
    #4
    Restarting the phone always sets mine straight.

    What does "cycling the GPS radio" mean?

    Do you know have the GPS Status app?
  6. Senior Droid
    Vanilla Tarantino's Avatar
    Member #
    3682
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    135
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Backnblack View Post
    Do you have another app that uses gps to try?
    Well that's an interesting fix for the issue...

    I first went into Compass because I thought that for some reason the compass might need to be calibrated. I calibrated it and waited about 3 or 4 minutes to see if it would lock on to my address. It did not. Just for fun I then opened up GPS Status. It hung at 2 satellites, no locks for about a minute, then jumped to 8 satellites, 7 locks. Going back into Maps, it now locked in a matter of seconds. I killed all apps that could be using GPS, reopened Maps, and it again found my location almost instantly.

    I honestly have no idea why that might have worked, but lesson learned. Thank you for that suggestion! I'll have to make sure I can get satellites before hitting the road next time. I was afraid I might need to go back to my old Garmin.
  7. Senior Droid
    Vanilla Tarantino's Avatar
    Member #
    3682
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    135
    Phone
    Droid
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by eliwellis View Post
    Restarting the phone always sets mine straight.

    What does "cycling the GPS radio" mean?

    Do you know have the GPS Status app?
    1) Yeah, that usually takes care of any little issues, but as I said, the restart did nothing for me.

    2) By cycling the radio, I just turned it off then back on from the Power Control widget.

    3) I do and that did the trick. It must do something differently, and that's very good to know for the future.
  8. Premium Member
    Backnblack's Avatar
    Member #
    6311
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    11,279
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    Premium Member
    #7
    Glad it worked for you!
    A gun in the hand is better than a cop on the phone.

    Only the Skilled Survive

    A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.

    Drill Sergeant Frick's Rules For Un-armed Combat.
    1. Never be unarmed.
    2. See Rule #1

    USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.



  9. Senior Droid
    wernst's Avatar
    Member #
    40357
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    110
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #8
    About once a week I find I must restart my Droid to make the GPS lock onto satellites again.

    I see there is a recommendation for a program called GPS Status, but I see that there are two of them in the Market.

    Which one are you guys talking about?

    -Warr
  10. Droid
    eliwellis's Avatar
    Member #
    28234
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    Motorola Droid & HTC Eris
    #9
    I use the free version of GPS Status.

    It's likely that GPS Status did not "fix" your problem. This app just listens to the data that the phones GPS sensor produces ( or doesn't produce) and displays the data in a neat user interface.

    Interesting that the problem cleared up right after you used the app.
  11. Senior Droid
    Vanilla Tarantino's Avatar
    Member #
    3682
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    135
    Phone
    Droid
    #10
    wernst - The one I used is the one by EclipSim. It's the first result when I search for "gps status".

    eliwellis - I'm also rather surprised that it seemed to have fixed my problem. It's possible that the problem just happened to resolve itself and it was just coincidence that I ran the app a minute or two before it cleared up. If I end up with this issue again, I'll test it once more and post my result.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. GPS Failed? This May Fix It
    By Erich_F in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 07:10 PM
  2. OTA 2.1 update failed
    By schapman43 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2010, 03:54 PM
  3. New phone, first attempt at rooting failed. Need more help.
    By PetRiLJoe in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 03-31-2010, 08:19 AM
  4. Please help with my failed upgrade.
    By errclear in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-27-2010, 06:22 PM
  5. How to re-send a failed txt?
    By daddio in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 07:06 PM

Search tags for this page

android can't find gps satellites
,
android gps can't find satellites
,
android gps cannot find satellites
,
android gps will not locate satellites
,

droid x can't find satellite

,
droid x unable to find gps
,

find gps satellites

,
how to find gps satellites
,

phone cant find satellites

,
why phone cannot locate satellite
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+