DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Why does swype not like me?

  1. Droid Ninja
    iPirate's Avatar
    Member #
    19507
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,437
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    Why does swype not like me?

    If I reboot my phone, swype says my phone is not supported and it won work... Anyone else having this problem?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    qwiksilver711's Avatar
    Member #
    28438
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Backwoods Montana
    Posts
    324
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    droid!
    #2
    I was, open up an sms message, long click on the text field and tell it to use stock keyboard as input method, repeat but tell it to use swype... Fixes it every time
    And now a Message from the Admins...
    -Respect is rule number one. Normal social rules and etiquette apply, even while hiding behind a keyboard.
    -Keep your political and religious views off this forum.
    -If you want to pick a fight about something, you will have to find somewhere else to do so.
    -Report any offensive post or PM, they will be handled.
    -We are here to have fun and learn, so please try and keep it that way for everyone!
  4. Droid Ninja
    iPirate's Avatar
    Member #
    19507
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,437
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    Thank you!!!!!!!
  5. Master Droid
    qwiksilver711's Avatar
    Member #
    28438
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Backwoods Montana
    Posts
    324
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    droid!
    #4
    Any time (10 char)
    And now a Message from the Admins...
    -Respect is rule number one. Normal social rules and etiquette apply, even while hiding behind a keyboard.
    -Keep your political and religious views off this forum.
    -If you want to pick a fight about something, you will have to find somewhere else to do so.
    -Report any offensive post or PM, they will be handled.
    -We are here to have fun and learn, so please try and keep it that way for everyone!
  6. Senior Droid
    Brokn68's Avatar
    Member #
    42495
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    That's weird, I've never had that issue, but now I know how to fix if I do.
  7. Droid Ninja
    jsh1120's Avatar
    Member #
    13823
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    2,462
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Brokn68 View Post
    That's weird, I've never had that issue, but now I know how to fix if I do.
    The issue exists only in the official beta version (5652.) It doesn't happen with an earlier (but still beta) version (5612.)
  8. Senior Droid
    Brokn68's Avatar
    Member #
    42495
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by jsh1120 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Brokn68 View Post
    That's weird, I've never had that issue, but now I know how to fix if I do.
    The issue exists only in the official beta version (5652.) It doesn't happen with an earlier (but still beta) version (5612.)
    That makes sense, I got version 5612 off of a post on this forum.
  9. Droid Ninja
    jsh1120's Avatar
    Member #
    13823
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    2,462
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Brokn68 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jsh1120 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Brokn68 View Post
    That's weird, I've never had that issue, but now I know how to fix if I do.
    The issue exists only in the official beta version (5652.) It doesn't happen with an earlier (but still beta) version (5612.)
    That makes sense, I got version 5612 off of a post on this forum.
    It may seem odd that the more recent version has the bug while the earlier one does not. Apparently, it has to do with Swype's (valiant) efforts to provide a single version of their software for multiple android devices. What happened was that the 5612 release worked fine for the droid but failed with some other phones. When they fixed that problem in the first day or so of the beta they apparently recoded the boot sequence for Swype so that on the Droid (at least) the o/s is not finished doing its housekeeping on boot before Swype tries to initialize itself. Thus, the initialization sequence failed.

    As far as I know Swype hasn't found a way around the problem. That's the challenge of trying to make one's software be both tightly integrated with a device's o/s implementation and still workable with a broad selection of devices.
  10. Senior Droid
    Brokn68's Avatar
    Member #
    42495
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    173
    Phone
    Droid
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by jsh1120 View Post
    As far as I know Swype hasn't found a way around the problem. That's the challenge of trying to make one's software be both tightly integrated with a device's o/s implementation and still workable with a broad selection of devices.
    I was going to ask what other fixes or enhancements went into the newer beta version, but you've saved me the trouble of tracking down release notes. I think I'll stick with this version to avoid the minor bug. I really do love the software though, it has drastically changed how I text and it's for the better.
  11. Senior Droid
    FoFa's Avatar
    Member #
    3966
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    246
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3 Verizon
    #10
    What was the Trial Release 0.35.3959. Cause I don't have those problems, nor has it "timed yet" at least as of yet. It could use a little refinement, but tell you what, I would rather use a not as refined version, than live without it.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Where has Swype gone
    By kamensm in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 09:47 PM
  2. Where'd Swype go?
    By Medman in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-27-2010, 11:12 AM
  3. Swype is the best
    By Goofy Yno in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 04:07 PM
  4. Swype Help..Please
    By jordabella in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-16-2010, 11:21 AM
  5. swype over 9mb??
    By phreakaj in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-02-2010, 11:33 AM

Search tags for this page

i like swype

,
whydoes swype not want to work
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+