DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: If GPS is disabled, how's it deterine your location on google maps?

  1. Master Droid
    cisco0910's Avatar
    Member #
    9039
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    845
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    If GPS is disabled, how's it deterine your location on google maps?

    Im guessing it's from the cell phone tower. Is this correct? anybody know?
    Motorola Droid
    Rooted DroidMod 1.0, 1000MHz
    Smoked Glass theme w/live wallpapers
    Seidio innocase w/holster
    gtalk: pacifico.talens.jr
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #2
    Yes you are correct. Approximate location by cell towers.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Master Droid
    cisco0910's Avatar
    Member #
    9039
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    845
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Yes you are correct. Approximate location by cell towers.
    ok, so is the location on the map where it shows my location where a cell phone tower is? or is my location determined by using multiple towers and approximates your location somehow like that. me and a buddy are discussing it as we speak and we don't know for sure.
    Motorola Droid
    Rooted DroidMod 1.0, 1000MHz
    Smoked Glass theme w/live wallpapers
    Seidio innocase w/holster
    gtalk: pacifico.talens.jr
  5. DF News Team/Mod
    Malvado's Avatar
    Member #
    1437
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,027
    Liked
    65 times
    Twitter
    @juliothestar
    Phone
    Droid RAZR
    Premium Member
    #4
    if gps isnt on, google wont be able to say ur exact location...mine was always off by a block or two
  6. Master Droid
    cisco0910's Avatar
    Member #
    9039
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    845
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Malvado View Post
    if gps isnt on, google wont be able to say ur exact location...mine was always off by a block or two
    i realize it can't find exact location. question is hows it determine the location it puts you in? thnx
    Motorola Droid
    Rooted DroidMod 1.0, 1000MHz
    Smoked Glass theme w/live wallpapers
    Seidio innocase w/holster
    gtalk: pacifico.talens.jr
  7. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by cisco0910 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Yes you are correct. Approximate location by cell towers.
    ok, so is the location on the map where it shows my location where a cell phone tower is? or is my location determined by using multiple towers and approximates your location somehow like that. me and a buddy are discussing it as we speak and we don't know for sure.
    This.

    Not sure if it's one or multiple cell towers at a time. I dont think you can be connected to more than one tower at a time, but I'm not 100% sure. If you'll notice, Google Maps shows your position as a big blue circle, meaning you're somewhere inside the radius of that cell tower's comm range.
  8. Master Droid
    cisco0910's Avatar
    Member #
    9039
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    845
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by kwmayo View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by cisco0910 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Yes you are correct. Approximate location by cell towers.
    ok, so is the location on the map where it shows my location where a cell phone tower is? or is my location determined by using multiple towers and approximates your location somehow like that. me and a buddy are discussing it as we speak and we don't know for sure.
    This.

    Not sure if it's one or multiple cell towers at a time. I dont think you can be connected to more than one tower at a time, but I'm not 100% sure. If you'll notice, Google Maps shows your position as a big blue circle, meaning you're somewhere inside the radius of that cell tower's comm range.
    yea, i noticed the big blue circle. I'm definitely in the blue circle as i just tried it. Looking at the circle, it's approximately 1/4-1/2 wide.

    Dang, so nobody knows a definite answer.
    Motorola Droid
    Rooted DroidMod 1.0, 1000MHz
    Smoked Glass theme w/live wallpapers
    Seidio innocase w/holster
    gtalk: pacifico.talens.jr
  9. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #8
    After a discussion with my other nerdly friends, we've decided that you CANNOT be connected to more than one cell tower at a time. Triangulation occurs by passing the signal from one cell tower to the next.

    Connecting to multiple towers at once would require multiple transmission devices in your phone, which does not exist. If it did, people with heavy tower coverage could do voice and data at the same time in CDMA networks.
  10. Master Droid
    gentlefury's Avatar
    Member #
    20283
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    443
    Phone
    Droid
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by kwmayo View Post
    After a discussion with my other nerdly friends, we've decided that you CANNOT be connected to more than one cell tower at a time. Triangulation occurs by passing the signal from one cell tower to the next.

    Connecting to multiple towers at once would require multiple transmission devices in your phone, which does not exist. If it did, people with heavy tower coverage could do voice and data at the same time in CDMA networks.
    Actually CDMA is built around multi-tower communication, that is why hand-offs don't cause dropped calls like GSM (which is single tower based)
  11. Droid
    LMac8806's Avatar
    Member #
    44577
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    56
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #10
    Triangulation using towers?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Google Maps - Saving Existing Location
    By techchallenged in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-12-2010, 02:18 PM
  2. Google Maps Issue with My Location
    By Droyd in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-21-2010, 11:10 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 05:50 AM
  4. Google Maps Providing Inaccurate Location
    By kpiskin in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 08:00 AM
  5. Google Maps: My Current Location Is Inaccurate
    By daelight in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-18-2009, 09:28 AM

Search tags for this page

enable my location source in system settings
,
google maps gps disabled
,
gps disabled
,

gps disabled android

,
gps is disabled on my droid
,

my location source in system settings

,

please enable a my location source in system settings

,
please enable my location source in system settings
,
what does gps disabled mean
,
why is my gps disabled
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+