DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Droid Aviators

1. RS Admin
    Member #
    Liked
    1698 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member

Droid Aviators

Droid Aviators-space-shuttle.jpg

To those in the aviation industry, whether you are a pilot, aircraft mechanic, engineer, working for the airlines, military, a civilian company: What do you use your droid for, what apps work good for your job, what phone was you using before the droid and how has or hasn't it help you with your job. What feature or app would you lije to see to help you with your job.
  2. Senior Droid
    Member #
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx
    I'm a HEMS pilot and use: ForeFlight Weather, QuickWeather, and SunMoon (for NVG ops). I also use the browser to access the ADDS HEMS NOAA website to get a look at the ceiling/Flight Category info since I can't run the java-based tool directly on the phone.

I was using an iTouch before but really missed not having broadband. The weather can really change when you're stuck in the hospital for an hour or so and this phone is great for keeping me updated.

I would really like to see a good weight and balance application since I currently use spreadsheets to do that (DocumentsToGo). I would also like a Lat/Long converter since I never know what the ground units are going to use and the ships GPS is in degrees, decimal minutes.

I'm working on writing a GPS conversion program like the iPod program I used but it's slow since I'm new to this.

Fly Safe
  3. Master Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    A955
    I used to work fixed wing EMS. The apps were nice to kill time, but the biggest plus for me was the browsing experience. Being able to access full sites with a physical keyboard made all the difference.
  4. RS Admin
    Member #
    Liked
    1698 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member