DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: What the hell is my GPS doing?

  1. Master Droid
    billyk's Avatar
    Member #
    19511
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    734
    Liked
    18 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #1

    What the hell is my GPS doing?

    For the last hour, GPS has been running, indicated by the icon in the status bar at top.

    I've checked the running services, and there's few running and absolutely nothing that needs GPS.

    Whassup with this?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    crspang's Avatar
    Member #
    16040
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    692
    Phone
    DROID
    #2
    Do you have shop savvy?
  4. Droid
    Trooper's Avatar
    Member #
    38083
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    I always disable my "use GPS satellites" until I need to use them...

    That'll solve the problem.
  5. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by billyk View Post
    For the last hour, GPS has been running, indicated by the icon in the status bar at top.

    I've checked the running services, and there's few running and absolutely nothing that needs GPS.

    Whassup with this?
    Do you have your browser on a web page that uses GPS like the Google home page? If so that could be what's going on. Check your battery usage at settings/about phone/battery usage and see if that gives you a clue.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  6. Master Droid
    Riley's Avatar
    Member #
    15769
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    585
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid Razr M
    #5
    Yup mines been doing that the last few days too, and I found Shop Savvy running for no reason, along with another program I can't recall. The only thing I know uses my GPS every 30 minutes is my weather widget. Why is Shop Savvy using it?
  7. Master Droid
    billyk's Avatar
    Member #
    19511
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    734
    Liked
    18 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #6
    Thanks for the input.

    I think I had the Google Search page up in the browser - that'll do it. Thanks Hook.

    Also, the ShopSaavy question is a good one. I had it installed, twice, and I chucked it, twice, just for that reason. A shopping/barcode scanner that needs access to GPS every 30 minutes is just poor software design.
  8. Master Droid
    KevinJ's Avatar
    Member #
    18945
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    358
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    I noticed last night - and its still doing it today - that the GPS Status app is about 40 degrees off.

    It's grabbing the satellite signals okay, but the compass directions are wrong. I pulled out my regular "analog" compass, and it is pointing correctly. But the app isn't.

    Anyone got some ideas?
  9. Senior Droid
    gruve's Avatar
    Member #
    20826
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    232
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #8
    I've had that problem this week, it searches the location on the google start page, it was taking 72% of my battery.
  10. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Riley View Post
    Why is Shop Savvy using it?
    There's a thread that explains it somewhere. IIRC, it pre-caches location info.
  11. Droid Newbie
    mplspug's Avatar
    Member #
    43833
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #10
    I've left the Google home page up over night too, only to find my phone dead in the morning. I make it a habit of killing everything when I am done.

    I have a different GPS issue from time to time. Sometimes if I am in a building when it can't get a signal, but then I go outside and pull up maps or navigation, it just keeps saying searching for GPS Signal and never finds it. I can't figure out if there is a way to 'reset' the GPS by turning it off and back on. What I have to do in these instances is reboot the phone. Anyone else have that issue?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. What the HELL is with the dust specks under the glass???
    By XciteMe83 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 12:06 PM
  2. Hell Droid forum
    By porr1 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-09-2010, 09:34 AM
  3. what the hell is wrong with my battery?
    By AHB900 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-20-2009, 06:47 PM
  4. New from Hell, Mi
    By elbono75 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-2009, 06:21 AM

Search tags for this page

android gps keeps turning on

,
android what is using my gps
,
android why is my gps on
,
droid why is my gps on
,

my phone keeps saying searching for gps

,
my phone keeps searching for gps
,
my phones keeps searching for gps
,
why does my gps keep turning on
,
why is my gps on
,

why is my gps on my droid on

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+