DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: How To Activate New Phone, Same Contract?

  1. Senior Droid
    nooter99's Avatar
    Member #
    11871
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    173
    Phone
    droid
    #1

    How To Activate New Phone, Same Contract?

    One year old Bionic bricked itself, so I bought a used one off of ebay. New phone has clean ESN. I am in the middle of a 2 year contract with Verizon.
    Here's my question: How do I activate the new/used phone in regards to the SIM card?
    I know that I have to go to Verizon website and do the "Activate or Switch Device" procedure. But I'm unclear about the SIM card. Do I simply install SIM card from old phone into new phone before I start the activation process? Is there anything more to it than that? TIA.
  2. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by nooter99 View Post
    One year old Bionic bricked itself, so I bought a used one off of ebay. New phone has clean ESN. I am in the middle of a 2 year contract with Verizon.
    Here's my question: How do I activate the new/used phone in regards to the SIM card?
    I know that I have to go to Verizon website and do the "Activate or Switch Device" procedure. But I'm unclear about the SIM card. Do I simply install SIM card from old phone into new phone before I start the activation process? Is there anything more to it than that? TIA.
    Take the SIM card out of old phone, put in new phone. If the new phone takes the newer Micro SIM card, go to Verizon and they'll give you a new SIM card, for free (as far as I know, it was free last time I did this). You don't need to do anything on the website.

    And what new phone did ya pick up?!?!?!
  3. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,377
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #3

    Re: How To Activate New Phone, Same Contract?

    After you switch/ activate option on the website pop the SIM in and see if it works. If it doesn't, on the website after you activate there is an option to enter the SIM card number and activate it over. Not sure if it can just be placed in the new phone since its active or if you need to activate it. Either way its simple.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  4. Senior Droid
    nooter99's Avatar
    Member #
    11871
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    173
    Phone
    droid
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by macpro88 View Post
    Take the SIM card out of old phone, put in new phone. If the new phone takes the newer Micro SIM card, go to Verizon and they'll give you a new SIM card, for free (as far as I know, it was free last time I did this). You don't need to do anything on the website.

    And what new phone did ya pick up?!?!?!
    I just went with another Bionic. I wanted to get the SGIII, but I couldn't find one as cheap as the Bionic. Not due for an upgrade until May. Will get the latest and greatest then.
  5. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by nooter99 View Post
    I just went with another Bionic. I wanted to get the SGIII, but I couldn't find one as cheap as the Bionic. Not due for an upgrade until May. Will get the latest and greatest then.
    Groovy, but yeah, just go ahead and put the SIM card in the new Bionic, boot it up, and it'll activate!
  6. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,377
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #6

    Re: How To Activate New Phone, Same Contract?

    Ninja'd by Mac.... sorry didn't see that.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  7. Senior Droid
    nooter99's Avatar
    Member #
    11871
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    173
    Phone
    droid
    #7
    OK, I got new phone. Put sim card in and it makes calls just fine.
    But how do I get all my apps loaded onto new phone?
    I did sync and added my google account. Got all my contacts, but no apps loaded.
    What am I missing here?
  8. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by nooter99 View Post
    OK, I got new phone. Put sim card in and it makes calls just fine.
    But how do I get all my apps loaded onto new phone?
    I did sync and added my google account. Got all my contacts, but no apps loaded.
    What am I missing here?
    apps and the data don't normally sync over, the data does not for sure. you can however, root the two phones and manually back up the data on the old phone and transfer to the new one.

    Just reread your op though, is the old bionic at all alive?
  9. Senior Droid
    nooter99's Avatar
    Member #
    11871
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    173
    Phone
    droid
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by macpro88 View Post
    apps and the data don't normally sync over, the data does not for sure. you can however, root the two phones and manually back up the data on the old phone and transfer to the new one.

    Just reread your op though, is the old bionic at all alive?
    No, old phone is dead. When I go to my google account on my pc, all my apps are there. is there not a way to sync them to the new phone? I thought there was.
  10. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by nooter99 View Post
    No, old phone is dead. When I go to my google account on my pc, all my apps are there. is there not a way to sync them to the new phone? I thought there was.
    When you set up the new phone and signed into your Google account did you check the box to restore? And did you keep your old phone set to backup?

    And just a heads up, only apps would redownload, none of the data itself is going to be there.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. What if I buy a phone but don't activate it?
    By Jmoore1701 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-07-2012, 09:47 PM
  2. Possible to activate phone without 4g?
    By Xproplayer in forum Droid RAZR MAXX
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-18-2012, 05:26 AM
  3. Can't activate my phone... Help
    By dsparks in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2011, 09:39 PM
  4. My Phone Won't Activate
    By idol in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-16-2011, 09:52 AM
  5. Phone won't activate
    By doog in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-16-2010, 01:29 PM

Search tags for this page

activating new phone on same contract verizon
,
can i activate my new droid myself
,
how to activate a new android
,
how to activate a new phone in the middle of a contract
,
how to activate my used droid
,
how to activate used droid dna
,
how to put a new phone on the same contract
,

new phone same contract

,
switch to a new phone on same contract
,

verizon activate off-contract phone new sim

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+