DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Question about Google Maps

  1. Junior Droid
    Niffa's Avatar
    Member #
    23384
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Question about Google Maps

    Can anyone tell me why on the map app it almost alwaysd gives me "current location is temporarily unavailable". It has been able to find me only once.
  2. Droid Sensei
    natediddy1120's Avatar
    Member #
    23380
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    3,183
    Phone
    CyanogenMod :-)
    #2
    Do you have your GPS turned on whenever you open Maps?

  3. Junior Droid
    Niffa's Avatar
    Member #
    23384
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    Hhmm, I have no idea....how do I find out. Maybe I turned it off and didn't know or mean to.
  4. Droid Ninja
    alm0614's Avatar
    Member #
    6158
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,240
    Liked
    7 times
    Twitter
    VTCapsFan
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    under settings on google you have to enable use my location
  5. Junior Droid
    Niffa's Avatar
    Member #
    23384
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    Okay so I went under setting on my phone and found the thing that said for GPS satellite, it was checked (?) But I can't get a location even in area that I did before.
  6. Master Droid
    ShowTime's Avatar
    Member #
    31398
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    534
    Phone
    Has that newly rooted smell...
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by alm0614 View Post
    under settings on google you have to enable use my location
    That has nothing to do with the GPS feature being able to find him. That only allows websites in the browser to locate you, enabling searches to find local restaurants, shops, etc.
    OP, if you have GPS on (menu>settings>locations and security>use GPS satellites) then I'm not sure what the problem could be. Where are you located? I'm assuming you've tried it both inside and outside in various locations? I've never gotten this message so I'm not sure what's going on....
  7. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #7
    You definitely need to be outdoors for GPS but it should triangulate even if it can't get a GPS lock.
  8. Master Droid
    NickWgnr's Avatar
    Member #
    21100
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    SoYoCO
    Posts
    261
    Phone
    TEH ߀R DROID
    #8
    You need to have Use Wireless Networks and Use GPS Satellites enabled for this feature to work everywhere. Otherwise you pretty much need to be outside or right by a window. I had the Use Wireless Networks off because I thought it would keep Wifi on but it doesn't. But I had the same problem so I was messing around with it and saw that so I turned it back on and BAM it works.
    Simplified Steps:
    Menu Soft Key>Settings>Location & Security> Select the first two options ( Use Wireless Networks and Use GPS Satellites)



    Wagner
    If I owned an iPhone then I would think that iSUCK
    DROID FOR LIFE
    VIC DROID Member #1
    "So you took it apart and now it doesn't work? Why does that not surprise me?"
    "If I don't remember it, it never happened"
  9. Junior Droid
    Niffa's Avatar
    Member #
    23384
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #9
    I got it, I got it! Thanks guys I had the GPS selected but not wireless network. Thanks guys!
  10. Junior Droid
    Niffa's Avatar
    Member #
    23384
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #10
    Wait nope, I was wrong! Well now I can get a location but its wrong! It has me out in the water! Any way to recalibrate it or anything?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Google My Tracks import to Google Maps GPS
    By Tekmazter in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 05:33 AM
  2. Google maps question
    By wallstreet123456 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 10:01 AM
  3. Google Maps Question
    By hajabooja in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-27-2009, 09:58 PM
  4. Google maps/GPS question
    By wallstreet123456 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-03-2009, 11:51 AM
  5. Question about the Google Maps Navigation
    By azcards11 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-07-2009, 10:40 AM

Search tags for this page

current location temporarily unavailable galaxy s3

,

do you need google location enabled to be abe to use gps

,

droid google maps location temporarily unavailable

,

google maps location unavailable s3

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+