DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Droid gps- real or fake?

  1. Master Droid
    CBLJazz's Avatar
    Member #
    25620
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    333
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Droid gps- real or fake?

    I"ve been doing research and i can't seem to get a definitive answer.

    Does the droid use a real satilite gps or a cell signal like VZ nav?


    I know that google maps nav is enhanced by the internet for searches but is it dependent on the internet?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Premium Member
    Backnblack's Avatar
    Member #
    6311
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    11,279
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    Premium Member
    #2
    Uses both....you need cell service to dl maps. Unless you cache them.
    Last edited by Backnblack; 01-27-2010 at 04:22 AM.
  4. Rescue Squad
    Jonny Kansas's Avatar
    Member #
    29890
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Posts
    2,684
    Liked
    13 times
    Twitter
    Jonny_Ks
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #3
    Yeah. You get a VERY accurate GPS tracking when you have GPS enabled, but if you're Data Roaming, the phone won't be able to reroute. [This setting CAN be changed, but then you pay data roaming charges. Best advice, check the path before heading out if you're going on a long trip, and then stick to it unless you KNOW you'll have coverage.]
  5. Master Droid
    mikes's Avatar
    Member #
    25747
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    305
    Phone
    Moto Droid 2.02
    #4
    It uses aGPS and "real" GPS. Settings/location: If "Use wireless networks" is checked, it will use aGPS (and other methods); if "Use GPS satellites" is checked, it will use standalone GPS (which provides better accuracy).
    ----
    the mod who changed my sig, which followed all the rules.




    .
  6. Rescue Squad
    Jonny Kansas's Avatar
    Member #
    29890
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Posts
    2,684
    Liked
    13 times
    Twitter
    Jonny_Ks
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by mikes View Post
    It uses aGPS and "real" GPS. Settings/location: If "Use wireless networks" is checked, it will use aGPS (and other methods); if "Use GPS satellites" is checked, it will use standalone GPS (which provides better accuracy).
    Thanks for adding details to my response! I personally don't have "Use GPS satellites" enabled unless I'm using Navigation or one of a very few apps that I have that require it to function best. As I'm pretty sure it states in the settings menu, it conserves battery to turn this off when not using it.

    To add to YOUR response, aGPS is what the Alltell/VZW nav phones tend to use, if that helps clarify anything to the OP.
  7. Master Droid
    Big Cam's Avatar
    Member #
    2990
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    920
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy Nexus: Sourcerized
    #6
    GPS is accurate to about 3-6 meters, standing outside my house with gps on it is accurate to 6.5 feet.

    With it off, it places me about a mile away from my home.

    it is definetaly real GPS.
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    ROM: Team Sourcery!

  8. Master Droid
    mikes's Avatar
    Member #
    25747
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    305
    Phone
    Moto Droid 2.02
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonny Kansas View Post
    \aGPS is what the Alltell/VZW nav phones tend to use
    All US cell phones have been required by the FCC to be location capable since 2005. Sprint and T-Mobile 3G also use aGPS.

    I'm pretty sure that, even when standalone GPS is turned on, the Droid makes use of aGPS when it can. By doing so, it can get almanac and ephemeris data from the local cell site, reducing time to first fix to a couple of seconds (vs. a minimum mean of 45 seconds for GPS without aGPS support).
    ----
    the mod who changed my sig, which followed all the rules.




    .
  9. Rescue Squad
    Jonny Kansas's Avatar
    Member #
    29890
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Posts
    2,684
    Liked
    13 times
    Twitter
    Jonny_Ks
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #8
    @Mikes Thanks for the additional info!
  10. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by CBLJazz View Post
    I"ve been doing research and i can't seem to get a definitive answer.

    Does the droid use a real satilite gps or a cell signal like VZ nav?


    I know that google maps nav is enhanced by the internet for searches but is it dependent on the internet?
    I'm guessing you didn't check the Droid's technical specs page first?
    DROID by Motorola - Android phone - Motorola USA

    sGPS is what you're asking about and it's listed under the Connectivity section. Keep in mind that the sGPS receiver and Google Maps are 2 separate things. The sGPS receiver does not need data. Google Maps does need data.

    If you want to navigate without data coverage then you need to use a suitable GPS nav app.
    Last edited by takeshi; 01-27-2010 at 07:47 AM.
  11. Master Droid
    Sleeve's Avatar
    Member #
    7343
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    255
    Phone
    Motorola Bankruptcy Preventer
    #10
    BTW, GPS is only actually in use and consuming battery when the GPS icon is visible in the right group of status icons at the top of the screen. There is no real need to shut off and turn on GPS all the time unless you have certain apps that will activate the GPS on their own regardless of whether you're actively using the app, such as Locale. I use WeatherBug, and when I unlock, its widget checks where I am if it's been a few hours since it last checked my location. It doesn't activate the GPS every time I unlock. If I use a GPS-capable app, the icon appears when I start it, then disappears when I switch to another app. For a day or so, there was some buzz about the new Dolphin browser turning on GPS and leaving it on, but that seems to have been pinned down to using Google as the start page. The fact that people reacted strongly to any app that left GPS on says that we've become accustomed to apps making sparing use of the GPS ability.

    Certainly, anyone who wants to shut off their GPS for any reason can do so, my comments are only to reassure the OP that this is not a requirement.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. fake text somone else from a fake number
    By yz kid in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 07:59 AM
  2. A real Droid Theme
    By aStart in forum Android Themes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 10:40 AM
  3. You can fake receiving call with Fake-Call Me on Droid!
    By mobileappbuilder in forum Android App Developers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 09:43 PM
  4. Google Phone is fake...WTF?
    By BostonDroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 11:02 AM
  5. Real minimum plan for Droid?
    By khelek in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-08-2009, 03:46 PM

Search tags for this page

android real gps

,

android true gps

,
android with real gps
,

droid true gps

,

is droid a true gps

,

is droid gps true gps

,
real gps android
,
true gps android phone
,
true gps on droid
,
what is sgps
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+