DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: Droid gps- real or fake?

  1. Droid Ninja
    RW-1's Avatar
    Member #
    10175
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Nazareth, PA
    Posts
    2,257
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #21
    I have yet to test the maps while at 500' in the heli, will do so this weekend ...

    But so far on the road with my Garmin 496 from the heli in road mode, they seem to be in sync for location whilst moving.
  2. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #22
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Cam View Post
    That sounds like great news, but I thought there were cases where people left it on and aftera few hours the phone said the GPS was using the majority of the battery?
    That's really more of an issue of an app that uses the GPS receiver not releasing it in my experience (or an app that uses it frequently accessing GPS). I suggest keeping an eye on the GPS icon in the notification bar. It should disappear if you're not using an app that uses the GPS receiver.

    Quote Originally Posted by JhankG View Post
    No, you just need to cache your maps and you won't need data.
    Good point. I should have clarified. My statement was in reference to those expecting to use Google Maps and have it work in the same manner as a standalone GPS unit in areas with no coverage. If you can cache ahead of time that approach works. The problem is that you need data to cache and that may not be an option in all situations.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikes View Post
    I'm guessing you haven't checked on what sGPS really is, because it's not what you think it is.
    Oops -- you're right. The specs page isn't really all that useful then.

    Quote Originally Posted by CBLJazz View Post
    I do check the Droid specs. the problem is cell company's frequently want to sell theIr "fake gps" cell/ internet product as a true alternative to STANDALONE gps units.
    I was referring to the manufacturer's specs, not the carrier's specs (which are frequently off in my experience) however Motorola's specs page is actually quite useless in this regard. Sorry for the earlier comment.

    However, My Location in Google Maps can give you a rough idea of how it is determining your location based on what it claims the accuracy to be.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikes View Post
    I just fired up Google maps, with GPS turned off. It claims to know my location "Accurate to 70 meters," but it's probably 200 meters off. When I turn GPS on, it says "Accurate to 20 meters," and it's off by about 5.
    How do you get Google Maps to indicate that? On the Blackberry it automatically does so.
    Last edited by takeshi; 01-28-2010 at 07:25 AM.
  3. Master Droid
    mikes's Avatar
    Member #
    25747
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    305
    Phone
    Moto Droid 2.02
    #23
    Quote Originally Posted by takeshi View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mikes View Post
    I just fired up Google maps, with GPS turned off. It claims to know my location "Accurate to 70 meters," but it's probably 200 meters off. When I turn GPS on, it says "Accurate to 20 meters," and it's off by about 5.
    How do you get Google Maps to indicate that? On the Blackberry it automatically does so.
    When you open Maps, it comes up on your location, showing it as a blue dot surrounded by a circle of uncertainty. Touch the location, and an info bubble will pop us showing the estimated accuracy.
    ----
    the mod who changed my sig, which followed all the rules.




    .
  4. Rescue Squad
    Jonny Kansas's Avatar
    Member #
    29890
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Posts
    2,684
    Liked
    13 times
    Twitter
    Jonny_Ks
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    Premium Member
    #24
    How do you cache the maps?
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. fake text somone else from a fake number
    By yz kid in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 07:59 AM
  2. A real Droid Theme
    By aStart in forum Android Themes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 10:40 AM
  3. You can fake receiving call with Fake-Call Me on Droid!
    By mobileappbuilder in forum Android App Developers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 09:43 PM
  4. Google Phone is fake...WTF?
    By BostonDroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 11:02 AM
  5. Real minimum plan for Droid?
    By khelek in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-08-2009, 03:46 PM

Search tags for this page

android real gps

,

android true gps

,
android with real gps
,

droid true gps

,

is droid a true gps

,

is droid gps true gps

,
real gps android
,
true gps android phone
,
true gps on droid
,
what is sgps
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+