DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: GPS Coverage

  1. Junior Droid
    xlr8bigmike's Avatar
    Member #
    26922
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    GPS Coverage

    hey, I have not had a chance to take my droid far away from the city yet, and i am curios to know how the coverage for gps works in comparison to 3g. Essentially shouldest all gps powered devices get the same amount of access to the signal depending on the individual hardware's antenna?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #2
    GPS is GPS but some chipsets tend to do a better job of getting satellite lock than others. You will need data coverage for Google Maps.
  4. Droid
    droidfannd's Avatar
    Member #
    26780
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    81
    Phone
    Motorola DROID
    #3
    I found out the need for data coverage the 'hard' way when I navigated myself to a location without any cellular coverage at all...but was unable to navigate my way back out via Google Maps on my DROID. Fortunately, I was able to recall the route back to Minot...and the DROID picked back up once data coverage was restored.
  5. Master Droid
    deputc26's Avatar
    Member #
    6714
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    723
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #4
    GPS satellites cover the entire globe more or less equally, 4 satellites are required for a fix but typically 10 or more are useable from any location on the planet. Not all GPS receivers are created equal. the one in my Cessna outperforms the one in my droid by far (and costs more than 10x the price of the whole phone) GPS units are rated by the S/N they're capable of operating at, whether they support various features (WAAS etc.)and by how often they update the fix. It used to be they updated every 10 seconds but the droid updates every one second and the Cessna updates 10x per second.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Question Regarding coverage in Puerto Rico
    By Slntagent in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-19-2010, 10:13 AM
  2. Rugged full coverage case
    By jefbystereo in forum Android Accessories
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-28-2010, 11:07 AM
  3. best skins ever coverage?
    By EsiEmi in forum Android Accessories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 03:09 PM
  4. Total Equipment Coverage vs
    By TxDoc in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-28-2009, 09:28 AM

Search tags for this page

android gps puerto rico

,
google navigation not working in puerto rico
,
gps coverage on phones
,
gps puerto rico google navigation
,
gps verizon coverage
,
gps works in puerto rico android
,

verizon gps coverage

,

verizon gps puerto rico

,
what androidgps works in puerto rico
,
what gps navigation works in puerto rico for my android phon
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+