DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Moto Droid Sim card?

  1. Master Droid
    steveninspokane's Avatar
    Member #
    20681
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    542
    Liked
    20 times
    Twitter
    TrastX
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #1

    Moto Droid Sim card?

    I am looking at purchasing a laptop that has a slot for cell phone sim cards so I can access the net anywhere I get service. My question though is does the Moto Droid have a sim card? I have always heard that Verizon doesn't use them, but some people say their Verizon phones have them. Can Anyone tell me if it does or not?

    Thank you
  2. Super Moderator
    Martin030908's Avatar
    Member #
    248
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    8,836
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #2
    The Droid does not have a SIM card. Only world phones on VZW have SIM cards... and the Droid is not a world phone.
  3. Master Droid
    steveninspokane's Avatar
    Member #
    20681
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    542
    Liked
    20 times
    Twitter
    TrastX
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #3
    Ok then, that's too bad, but anyways, Thanks for the super quick response.
  4. Super Moderator
    Martin030908's Avatar
    Member #
    248
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    8,836
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #4
    You can always do a search for "tethering" which would allow you to use your Droid connection to connect a PC to the internet
  5. Master Droid
    steveninspokane's Avatar
    Member #
    20681
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    542
    Liked
    20 times
    Twitter
    TrastX
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #5
    Thanks for the tip, I thought I read on this board awhile ago that verizon was going to support tethering for the droid soon, spring maybe, is that still a possibility?

    I have already rooted, and then unrooted my droid, seeing how I wasn't quite ready to have a broken warranty only 2 days after getting it.
  6. Super Moderator
    Martin030908's Avatar
    Member #
    248
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    8,836
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #6
    If you've already gone thru rooting, you might want to check out the Hacks section of the forum... and see what can be done about tethering. There are ways of tethering without VZW... but you need a rooted phone
  7. Master Droid
    steveninspokane's Avatar
    Member #
    20681
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    542
    Liked
    20 times
    Twitter
    TrastX
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #7
    Yeah, rooting was pretty simple, with how much drama I was reading about it, I thought it was going to change my entire phone from a GUI to a cmd line base, haha. I think I might hold off though till I get 2.1 and then see what Verizon has to offer, unless what Verizon has to offer comes with an extra charge.
  8. Super Moderator
    Martin030908's Avatar
    Member #
    248
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    8,836
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #8
    Well hopefully the 2.1 wait won't be much longer. I'm content with my device now however.
    Just wanted to let you know you did have options to tether!
  9. Master Droid
    steveninspokane's Avatar
    Member #
    20681
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    542
    Liked
    20 times
    Twitter
    TrastX
    Phone
    Droid 2
    #9
    haha, I had just been reading now about the tethering options, the PDAnet option sounds pretty good, I will probably go that route. And as you said, This phone owns just as it is, I can't imagine it getting any better, however, those 2 extra screens for apps and widgets does sound nice.
  10. Premium Member
    Backnblack's Avatar
    Member #
    6311
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    11,279
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    Premium Member
    #10
    A few of the Verizon BB's have them...I know the Storm1 did....

    You can unloack the phone and use overseas with a local sim.
    A gun in the hand is better than a cop on the phone.

    Only the Skilled Survive

    A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.

    Drill Sergeant Frick's Rules For Un-armed Combat.
    1. Never be unarmed.
    2. See Rule #1

    USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-14-2009, 11:23 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 02:34 PM
  3. how do i xfer contacts from an sd card to the moto droid?
    By bsh117 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-27-2009, 08:23 PM
  4. Why does my Moto Droid say its name?
    By Palmyra in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 04:25 PM
  5. New Moto Droid Owner
    By Palmyra in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 07:04 AM

Search tags for this page

do all droids have a sim card
,

do droids have sim cards

,
do droids use sim cards
,
does droid 2 have a sim card
,
does droid 2 have sim card
,
does moto x have sims card
,
does the motorola droid 2 have a sim card
,
does verizon droid have a sim card
,
where does the sim card go in a motorola droid
,
where is the sim compartment for motorola droid
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+