DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wifi problems

  1. Master Droid
    roberj13's Avatar
    Member #
    28166
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    878
    Phone
    Droid Incredible
    #1

    Wifi problems

    First I want to say I just got my Droid, after watching this forum for a few weeks while I was deciding. I am so glad I did so far! This phone is great and I am sure I am just beginning to unlock its potential. This site has been a great help since there are 2 people at work that have this phone and they are amazed that I know so much about the phone on my second day.

    I do have one problem so far. My Droid says it is connected to my wifi network, but nothing that uses the internet will work. Browser, facebook, market, etc. I will get calls, texts, and gmail notifications however. It is WEP encrypted and I've tried "unremembering" the wifi network and then typing in the password again about 3 times now. The phone also says that the connection strength is excellent and I show all bars.

    I have only downloaded a few apps so far and don't think they would be the reason for the internet working as far as I can tell.

    I have installed, a better keyboard, swype, handcent, slacker, pandora, .

    Thanks in advance everyone.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    mjs31's Avatar
    Member #
    161
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NE Texas
    Posts
    873
    Phone
    Droid running Ultimate
    #2
    So your wifi is setup. When you go into wifi settings, what does it show under the wifi networks? Is yours listed? If so, does it say connected under your router? For example...when I am connected to my Dlink wireless (which is also WEP encrypted) it says "Dlink" and then underneath that it says "connected"
  4. Master Droid
    roberj13's Avatar
    Member #
    28166
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    878
    Phone
    Droid Incredible
    #3
    Yes, when I go to settings/wifi settings/"mynetwork"/ it says connected. I click on that and it says, WEP, 54Mbps, Excellent and an IP address.

    But for example if I then go to Android Market it will sit there for about 2 minutes and then say unable to connect to server. Same with the browser.

    Turn of wifi, and life resumes as normal.

    I haven't been able to try any other networks to be sure if it is just my network my phone doesn't like or any network.
  5. Master Droid
    mjs31's Avatar
    Member #
    161
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NE Texas
    Posts
    873
    Phone
    Droid running Ultimate
    #4
    May I ask what it lists for your IP address? If you have a linksys router it should list something like 192.168.1.100 or 101 etc...
    With a Dlink it should list 192.168.0.100 or 101 etc..
    If this ip address is listed something like the ones above you should try below with the power and battery pulls. If it is giving something completely different then your router is not assigning you a good IP address.

    Ok. I hate to ask this since I don't want you to think this is needed all the time, but have you pulled the battery? If not, first try shutting down your phone via the top button. If it doesnt work after starting it back up, try pulling the battery and restarting.
  6. Senior Droid
    silverx10's Avatar
    Member #
    7876
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    199
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola DROID
    #5
    I have this same problem with mine. Constantly.

    I'll have to go into the Wi-Fi settings and turn it off, then back on. Either it'll find my network again on its own, or I'll have to go into the Available Networks area. If that's the case, it'll say, "Out of range, remembered" below it for a few seconds before finally connecting without an issue.
    "The only verdict is vengence; a vendetta, held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and voracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous."
  7. Master Droid
    mjs31's Avatar
    Member #
    161
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NE Texas
    Posts
    873
    Phone
    Droid running Ultimate
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by silverx10 View Post
    I have this same problem with mine. Constantly.

    I'll have to go into the Wi-Fi settings and turn it off, then back on. Either it'll find my network again on its own, or I'll have to go into the Available Networks area. If that's the case, it'll say, "Out of range, remembered" below it for a few seconds before finally connecting without an issue.
    question: When this happens is your wifi symbol still showing at the top? I have had it where I turn wifi on but it does not connect (typically this will occure when I use the power widget). Then when I click on the wifi settings link it connects right away. When this happens the wifi symbol does not show until it is connected.

    His situation is something different. His is saying he has a strong connection, but something is not allowing it (he does not get the out of range or no connection like you see). If his wifi is not on, then it should revert to his cell connection anyway. He goes in checks everything out and it still does not allow connections even though it says it should.
  8. Master Droid
    justbob's Avatar
    Member #
    19905
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    254
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #7
    Roberj13: Check to see if your DNS is working correctly. Sounds to me like you don't have any name resolution.
  9. Senior Droid
    Nickmast's Avatar
    Member #
    25159
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    173
    Phone
    Motorola Droid-UD8
    #8
    Are the coworkers with the droids having problems with their wifi connections at work as well?
  10. Junior Droid
    SamFox's Avatar
    Member #
    16423
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    25
    Phone
    Droid
    #9
    I had the same problem with my Droid using WiFi on the WEP (encrypted), then I changed to the WAP/WAP2 (encrypted) then the WiFi started working. Now, every once-in-a-while the WiFi will lock-up then I will need to re-boot the phone to re-set the WiFi again, not sure why?
  11. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #10
    I just got this tip on another thread and some of you may want to try this. This is for those having trouble with wifi at home. Try placing the phone in airplane mode and then turning on the wifi. I just tried it and wifi appears to be working great in this mode.

    Hope this helps, it sure did for me.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Having problems connecting/staying connected to University WiFi. 802.1x
    By Flowah in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2012, 08:34 PM
  2. wifi issue with Optimum Wifi
    By brucin in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 01:53 PM
  3. WiFi Problems
    By mrpbjnance in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-27-2009, 09:37 PM
  4. Still Visual Voicemail Problems with WiFi on 2.0.1
    By Tegaor in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 09:02 AM
  5. Wifi problems or just me?
    By altjx in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-19-2009, 06:15 PM

Search tags for this page

android wifi not in range
,
what does it mean when my wifi says not in range
,
what does it mean when wifi is not in range
,
what does it mean when wifi is out of range
,
what does it mean when wifi says not in range
,

what does not in range mean

,

what does not in range mean for wifi

,
what does out of range mean on wifi
,

what does wifi not in range mean

,
why is my wifi saying out of range
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+