DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Tried upgradeing my Titanium Backup to Pro & now it says I don't have root?!?

  1. Master Droid
    Jer's Avatar
    Member #
    7757
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    551
    Phone
    HTC Evo 4G, Archos 101
    #1

    Tried upgradeing my Titanium Backup to Pro & now it says I don't have root?!?

    I don't understand what the problem is. I've used Titanium Backup for a year and a half now w/o a single problem. Today I decide to buy the Pro version so I go to the market and click to buy it. I wait for it to download and install and them I launch the regular version again (this is what I did on my wife's phone and it worked) and when I do I get an error that says the device isn't rooted. I'm running MikFroyo v4.1 so I know it is. I click the problems button and it says I need to install a clean version of Busy Box so I do this. Doesn't fix it. I then click the button to update the Superuser and it does this... nothing still. What is going on here? Makes me not want to buy a pro app that's for sure.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Sensei
    nerdslogic's Avatar
    Member #
    139756
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cybertron
    Posts
    2,541
    Liked
    7 times
    Twitter
    Nerdslogic
    Phone
    Android
    #2
    I would just uninstall the app and reinstall it. Maybe run a fix permissions if the uninstall reinstall doesn't fix it.
    Go to work, send your kids to school, follow fashion, act normal, walk on the pavement, watch t.v., save for your old age, obey the law, don't ask questions, and repeat after me.....I am free.
  4. Master Droid
    Jer's Avatar
    Member #
    7757
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    551
    Phone
    HTC Evo 4G, Archos 101
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by nerdslogic View Post
    I would just uninstall the app and reinstall it. Maybe run a fix permissions if the uninstall reinstall doesn't fix it.
    Thanks for posting. Before posting here I uninstalled, rebooted, reinstalled & rebooted. No dice. How do I run a fix permissions?
  5. Droid Sensei
    nerdslogic's Avatar
    Member #
    139756
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cybertron
    Posts
    2,541
    Liked
    7 times
    Twitter
    Nerdslogic
    Phone
    Android
    #4
    Hmm.....that I don't really know. I know in Liberty it's in the toolbox, Droid 2 Overclock has it in extra's....but I don't know where your ROM would have it or if there is an app for you.

    Sorry....don't know enough about Evo's to help.
    Go to work, send your kids to school, follow fashion, act normal, walk on the pavement, watch t.v., save for your old age, obey the law, don't ask questions, and repeat after me.....I am free.
  6. Master Droid
    Jer's Avatar
    Member #
    7757
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    551
    Phone
    HTC Evo 4G, Archos 101
    #5
    Hmm.. I'm leaning towards the fact that I may have lost root access. Can I simply run Unrevoke3 again to root it and leave my ROM and theme intact or do I have to start all over again?

    Another thing I noticed is the my backups are much fewer than what I had expected.I made one backup after rooting and clearing the data/cache so I would have a stock ROM to flash if I ever needed too. Then I flashed MikFroyo and backed it up. I then flashed a green theme and backed it up. Lastly I decided I liked the blue theme better, flashed that (w/o wiping which is probably where I lost root) and then made a backup of what would likely be my final setup to revert back to. I then used ES File Explorer to navigate to my Backups folder to rename them so I would know what was what. Much to my surprise there are two of them and I'm not sure which is which. I expected to see twice as many backups so I'm not sure what's going on there but I hope one is a stock ROM.
  7. Droid Sensei
    nerdslogic's Avatar
    Member #
    139756
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cybertron
    Posts
    2,541
    Liked
    7 times
    Twitter
    Nerdslogic
    Phone
    Android
    #6
    Install root checker from the market and find out if you have root.
    Go to work, send your kids to school, follow fashion, act normal, walk on the pavement, watch t.v., save for your old age, obey the law, don't ask questions, and repeat after me.....I am free.
  8. Master Droid
    Jer's Avatar
    Member #
    7757
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    551
    Phone
    HTC Evo 4G, Archos 101
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by nerdslogic View Post
    Install root checker from the market and find out if you have root.
    Yep, looks like I lost root somehow.

    "Detailed Results:
    Root Access is not properly configured or was not granted.

    Standard su binary Location:
    lrwxrwxrwx root root 2011-04-30
    00:02 su -> /system/bin/su

    Alternate su binary location:
    /sbin/su: Permission denied

    SU binary not found in the system declared PATH"

    I tried to type what was on my screen. So, does this indicate anything unusual to worry about or just lost root access? Can I just run Unrevoked3 again to gain root access w/o changing my ROM/theme or do I have to start completely over again?
  9. Droid Sensei
    nerdslogic's Avatar
    Member #
    139756
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cybertron
    Posts
    2,541
    Liked
    7 times
    Twitter
    Nerdslogic
    Phone
    Android
    #8
    Yeah looks like you lost root. I would try the unrevoked again and if it doesn't work SBF and start over.
    Go to work, send your kids to school, follow fashion, act normal, walk on the pavement, watch t.v., save for your old age, obey the law, don't ask questions, and repeat after me.....I am free.
  10. Master Droid
    Jer's Avatar
    Member #
    7757
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    551
    Phone
    HTC Evo 4G, Archos 101
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by nerdslogic View Post
    Yeah looks like you lost root. I would try the unrevoked again and if it doesn't work SBF and start over.
    I decided to just take a chance in the dark and it worked fine. It took a couple tries and I had to take my USB type from charge only to mount as disk drivebut oince I did that it worked just as easy as it did the first time.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Titanium Backup pro or Root Explorer?
    By jhov81 in forum Thunderbolt Hacks
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-30-2011, 04:36 PM
  2. Titanium Backup or Backup & Restore via google?
    By Coderedpl in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 10:41 AM
  3. Backup/Restore Question - Titanium Backup - z4root
    By injektilo in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 07:45 AM
  4. Sd card issues after root and nandroid and titanium backup
    By sdwrestler1012 in forum Droid Incredible Hacks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-26-2010, 10:57 AM
  5. What is the backup of Titanium Backup APK called?
    By just4747 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-01-2010, 12:09 PM

Search tags for this page

free upgrade to titanium backup pro
,

how to get titanium backup pro for free

,
how to get titanium backup pro free
,
root access not properly configured
,

su binary not found

,
titanium backup doesn't load pro key
,
titanium backup fix permissions
,
titanium backup pro free
,
titanium backup pro key doesn't work
,
titanium backup pro key not working
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+