DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Help!!! Unroot needed asap!!!!

  1. Junior Droid
    CammedLS3's Avatar
    Member #
    29492
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    DROID!!
    #1

    Help!!! Unroot needed asap!!!!

    I rooted my phone in January using SuperUser, mainly so I can have screenshots. Just recently the button on the top right to turn the phone on broke and I took it to Verizon and I have a refurbished one under warranty that was sent to me.

    I need to unroot. I am brand new to all of this and need exact instructions lol. Please help my Droid brothers lol!!!!!!!!!!


    I tried entering the following into the terminal emulator but it doesnt work, it says "permission denied" when I type in su.

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    cd /system/app
    rm Superuser.apk
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    sync
    reboot


    I rooted using superuser, the only app I really used was "screenshot" so just like the app says, I could have screenshots.


    Please help!!! My original phone needs to be sent back ASAP and I need to get it unrooted!!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    Suuperflie's Avatar
    Member #
    185896
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    352
    Liked
    14 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #2
    I have never rooted or unrooted a droid yet (won't actually recieve my used D1 until the 26th), but I do know how to search the forum before I post a question I'm sure has been asked quite a bit. Here, I did research for you....

    SBF to root and to unroot
  4. Theme Developer
    icculusX's Avatar
    Member #
    36395
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    The Moon
    Posts
    2,541
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    RAZR!
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #3
    Yea just flash the SBF to your droid, be patient, and itll be back to stock. Or I hear there is an "update.zip" out there somewhere that erases everything, puts you back to stock, and removes recovery with no SBF needed...

    So wait, you rooted in January and only have been using it for screenshots? No roms? Meh?
    The Mooooooon!
  5. Junior Droid
    CammedLS3's Avatar
    Member #
    29492
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    DROID!!
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by icculusX View Post
    Yea just flash the SBF to your droid, be patient, and itll be back to stock. Or I hear there is an "update.zip" out there somewhere that erases everything, puts you back to stock, and removes recovery with no SBF needed...

    So wait, you rooted in January and only have been using it for screenshots? No roms? Meh?
    No roms, nothing. After I rooted it, I used it for the ability to have screenshots then the camera started acting up. So I didnt take the root any further. Then the button on the top right stuck down and it wont come back up. So I decided its time for a warranty claim. No troll here...
  6. Master Droid
    fox_dye's Avatar
    Member #
    85011
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    431
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    If you download a stock rom with no root and flash that you will be back to stock. I did it on my wife's phone. But to be really safe I would sbf. That wipes everything and is a way to be sure your completely stock.

    Sent from a galaxy far far away........
  7. Master Droid
    Graymayre's Avatar
    Member #
    43929
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    upstate NY
    Posts
    453
    Liked
    4 times
    Twitter
    graymayre
    Phone
    Bionic
    #6
    Yep. Just make sure you download the latest Motorola drivers, RSD lite, and the right sbf file.
    Just make sure the sbf file loads up in RSD lite before you try to flash.
    I had the be extra careful because my only internet source was Wifi tether, so I had to make sure everything was right first before I even tried.
    Had to run to a hotel to download drivers when I bricked my D2G

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  8. Junior Droid
    CammedLS3's Avatar
    Member #
    29492
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    DROID!!
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Graymayre View Post
    Yep. Just make sure you download the latest Motorola drivers, RSD lite, and the right sbf file.
    Just make sure the sbf file loads up in RSD lite before you try to flash.
    I had the be extra careful because my only internet source was Wifi tether, so I had to make sure everything was right first before I even tried.
    Had to run to a hotel to download drivers when I bricked my D2G

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums

    Can anyone point me in the right direction for this? I am running 2.2.2
  9. Master Droid
    Graymayre's Avatar
    Member #
    43929
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    upstate NY
    Posts
    453
    Liked
    4 times
    Twitter
    graymayre
    Phone
    Bionic
    #8
    Using RSD Lite to flash an SBF file -- correctly


    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  10. Master Droid
    Graymayre's Avatar
    Member #
    43929
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    upstate NY
    Posts
    453
    Liked
    4 times
    Twitter
    graymayre
    Phone
    Bionic
    #9
    Here's the sbf file:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?nd8bi9w67drdvlx

    BTW the reason the update didn't work is that the Clockworkmod recovery you booted up in is not the stock recovery interface, it was a tool that the former owner flashed over the stock recovery, and thus does not function like stock recovery. It will look different after you flash.


    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  11. Master Droid
    Graymayre's Avatar
    Member #
    43929
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    upstate NY
    Posts
    453
    Liked
    4 times
    Twitter
    graymayre
    Phone
    Bionic
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Graymayre View Post
    Here's the sbf file:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?nd8bi9w67drdvlx

    BTW the reason the update didn't work is that the Clockworkmod recovery you booted up in is not the stock recovery interface, it was a tool that the former owner flashed over the stock recovery, and thus does not function like stock recovery. It will look different after you flash.


    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
    Thought I was posting to the thread where a guy got his phone from another guy who had rooted it and wanted to unroot. Feel free to point and laugh.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Please Help with Unroot...ASAP if you can
    By alanbk in forum Droid Rooted Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2011, 09:45 AM
  2. Unroot needed to complete phone trade?
    By notthedroidsurlookin4 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Development
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2011, 09:51 PM
  3. Rooted and need to Unroot - Assistance needed
    By [Ennis_D] in forum Droid Rooted Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 04:36 PM
  4. MAJOR issue - Help needed ASAP
    By Dan at Marquette in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 12:28 PM
  5. Booting to SPRecovery?? **ANSWER NEEDED ASAP**
    By D3C4F in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 03-14-2010, 02:43 PM

Search tags for this page

defy unroot
,

how to unroot defy

,
how to unroot moto defy
,

how to unroot motorola charm

,

how to unroot motorola defy

,

motorola defy unroot

,
superoneclick unroot motorola defy
,

unroot defy

,

unroot motorola charm

,

unroot motorola defy

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+