DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No way to enter a network proxy?

  1. Droid Newbie
    prubin3's Avatar
    Member #
    23081
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    No way to enter a network proxy?

    For a week I was loving my Droid but I'm frustrated today. At work (a school) I wanted to use our wireless network but in order to do so I need to enter a proxy setting (of the form http://proxy....pac) and I see no obvious place to do so. A search online has proven to be somewhere between fruitless and way too technical to bother with. I did have a brief hope when using the voice dialer, saying "proxy" and having a chance to enter the old settings we used to use that I believe still work (involves a port number) but to no avail. So what gives? iphones and ipod touches can do it. Blackberries can do it. I hear Windows Mobile phones can do it. Where's the Android love for us proxy users?

    Are there other web browsers for the phone that allow the proxy setting to be entered (ala firefox on desktop computers) though that won't work with other applications and therefore not be a real solution. Seems rather odd.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    huskur's Avatar
    Member #
    11527
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lower Delaware
    Posts
    1,885
    Liked
    111 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by prubin3 View Post
    For a week I was loving my Droid but I'm frustrated today. At work (a school) I wanted to use our wireless network but in order to do so I need to enter a proxy setting (of the form http://proxy....pac) and I see no obvious place to do so. A search online has proven to be somewhere between fruitless and way too technical to bother with. I did have a brief hope when using the voice dialer, saying "proxy" and having a chance to enter the old settings we used to use that I believe still work (involves a port number) but to no avail. So what gives? iphones and ipod touches can do it. Blackberries can do it. I hear Windows Mobile phones can do it. Where's the Android love for us proxy users?

    Are there other web browsers for the phone that allow the proxy setting to be entered (ala firefox on desktop computers) though that won't work with other applications and therefore not be a real solution. Seems rather odd.
    there are apps on the market for your problem. Just search "proxy" in the market
  4. Droid Newbie
    prubin3's Avatar
    Member #
    23081
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    I searched in the market but none of the descriptions clearly indicated that this will work for me.
  5. Junior Droid
    daevans315's Avatar
    Member #
    21178
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    Did you ever fine an app for the droid to do this. I can get on our corporate wifi but not get out because there is no way to enter a proxy.
  6. Droid Newbie
    mgranja's Avatar
    Member #
    195534
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by prubin3 View Post
    I searched in the market but none of the descriptions clearly indicated that this will work for me.
    Try Autoproxy, it supports proxy.pac files, and it's not too technical. (You do need root, though). Just add a new proxy, put the link to the proxy.pac file, and click connect. It will autoconnect to that proxy always when you're on the same network, and disconnect when you're off. Just set it and forget.
  7. Droid Sensei
    ilikemoneygreen's Avatar
    Member #
    56291
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Posts
    2,586
    Liked
    206 times
    Phone
    OG D1/G-Nex
    #6
    Im not sure how but i know my dads cell runs off of his works proxy. i could find out how if your really curious but im too to lazy to ask him right now.
    Turtle bit me.I thought they were slow....they snap so fast. ................. <3

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Mobile Browser Proxy!!!!
    By Getaphixx in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2010, 05:06 PM
  2. Using Proxy w/ Internet
    By mrz123 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-27-2009, 10:23 AM
  3. auto enter fo VM password
    By Steve H in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 07:28 PM
  4. Droid Eris - proxy
    By maxdroid in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 07:24 PM
  5. Changing Network Proxy Settings on Droid
    By Jef in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-06-2009, 03:16 PM

Search tags for this page

android proxy pac support
,

android proxy.pac

,
droid razr change proxy settings
,
droid x2 proxy
,
pac file for proxydroid
,
proxydroid incorrect pac file
,
proxydroid pac
,

proxydroid pac file

,
proxydroid proxy.pac
,

proxydroid without rooting

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+