DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Question Regarding coverage in Puerto Rico

  1. Senior Droid
    Slntagent's Avatar
    Member #
    6396
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    176
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #1

    Question Regarding coverage in Puerto Rico

    Anyone that has come to PR lately have an issue getting 3G coverage? i barely get a signal to begin with...curious to know if its my phone or just how the network is here?

    By the way ive traveled from San Juan to Ponce, same thing
  2. Senior Droid
    Slntagent's Avatar
    Member #
    6396
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    176
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #2
    well im leaving sat..hopefully someone can let me know if im the only one not getting 3g or if its everyone..hope nothing is wrong w my phone
  3. Master Droid
    crspang's Avatar
    Member #
    16040
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    692
    Phone
    DROID
    #3
    You on vacation in PR? If so, why you worried about your phone at all, shouldn't you be full of Bacardi? lol
    I wish I had an answer for you.
  4. Senior Droid
    Slntagent's Avatar
    Member #
    6396
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    176
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by crspang View Post
    You on vacation in PR? If so, why you worried about your phone at all, shouldn't you be full of Bacardi? lol
    I wish I had an answer for you.

    lol im still drinking but...i use my phone to communicate with family i have all over the island...so having a unreliable conn sucks
  5. Droid Newbie
    gfellow's Avatar
    Member #
    37700
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Just arrived in PR. I can receive and send phone calls, but all internet access is dead unless I find a wireless point
  6. Junior Droid
    gsridge's Avatar
    Member #
    15662
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6

    Smile Puerto Rico 3G coverage

    Got off cruise ship and headed east toward town. Continued along waterfront and in front of PR Tourism Bldg was a sign for wi fi hotspot. Took a little while but was able to catch up on emails etc. Also tried in St Thomas at a similarly noted wi fi spot but that didn't work.
  7. Junior Droid
    Medman's Avatar
    Member #
    7433
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #7
    Same report here. I just got back from PR last night(with egg on my face).

    My wife recently went back to her iphone while I stayed with vzw. It WAS a running joke about her at&t coverage compared to vzw.......well, until we landed in PR that is. My droid turned into a paperweight other than for making calls, while her iphone had all bars and data. She was smiling from ear to ear everytime we had to use her phone for data. Uggh!!! From what I was told from vzw customer service is that I needed to activate something a week prior to the trip to piggy back on a data service and it would cost me .69 per minute! Yike's! I ended up limping along using the wi-fi at the hotel and other places. Lastly, that was the nail in the coffin for her about not considering coming back to Verizon.
  8. Droid Newbie
    shinedown87's Avatar
    Member #
    60313
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #8
    Sorry that you were unable to get data coverage on your visit to Puerto Rico. I have been living in San Juan, Puerto Rico for about a year now, and data definitely does not work here on Verizon. It is really quite a shame considering AT&T, T-Mobile, and Sprint all have a working data connection.

    The majority of the time my phone displays "extended network." I can't even send an MMS picture message. Every once in a while my phone will kick into "roaming" and I can send pics and use data, but that doesn't happen very often.

    I have been dying to get a Droid, but will be unable to until I move back to the states. I am really disappointed in the Verizon service down here, considering there are so many of their customers that travel here from the States. I am stuck with a dumb-phone unless I switch carriers.
  9. Droid Newbie
    garhow's Avatar
    Member #
    8535
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #9
    There is no 3G in PR but there is 1X data coverage. You have to turn on data roaming. Even though you are using roaming you won't be charged roaming charges. A couple of years ago Verizon sold their PR operation to Claro. AT&T has better coverage in PR.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. best skins ever coverage?
    By EsiEmi in forum Android Accessories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 03:09 PM
  2. Total Equipment Coverage vs
    By TxDoc in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-28-2009, 09:28 AM

Search tags for this page

3g in puerto rico
,
does verizon 3g work in puerto rico
,
does verizon work in puerto rico
,

verizon 3g in puerto rico

,

verizon 3g puerto rico

,
verizon coverage in puerto rico
,
verizon data in puerto rico
,
verizon puerto rico 3g
,
verizon wireless data coverage in puerto rico
,
will my verizon phone work in puerto rico
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+