DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Droid Navigation

  1. Junior Droid
    aosman's Avatar
    Member #
    10295
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    22
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2.0.1
    #1

    Droid Navigation

    So finally had the opportunity to take my DROID on a trip to San Diego last week. I used the Google Navigation feature quite a bit but was disappointed couple of times.

    On a few occasions, I had no 3G or no network signal and was unable to use the Google Navigation. Even with an address, I was unable to have the phone navigate me back home. I was looking for a feature or option to download the maps in advance so navigation with GPS will work regardless of the Verizon signal but found no such feature.

    Anyone aware of a way to do this? I don't want to be stuck in another situation in the future where I am depending on the Google Navigation on my Droid and be unable to use it because no signal.
    Last edited by aosman; 01-05-2010 at 02:54 PM. Reason: typo
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    FireDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    16013
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    303
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #2
    hmm I havent had that problem. I was under the assumption that navigation used GPS and not 3g.
  4. Master Droid
    ntrddragn's Avatar
    Member #
    12322
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    863
    Liked
    26 times
    Phone
    Nexus
    #3
    really in san diego? i havent have problem in san diego (i live here). took it downtown and east to la mesa etc...the only time i had issue was last weekend when i was in Cedar City Utah. I had two time where i couldnt find a signal.
  5. Senior Droid
    sin vicious's Avatar
    Member #
    3030
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Tamarac, Fl.
    Posts
    103
    Phone
    Droid
    #4
    You have enbale GPS.. Droid uses both cell tower and GPS..I have no problems in Florida.
  6. Junior Droid
    aosman's Avatar
    Member #
    10295
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    22
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2.0.1
    #5
    I lost 3G signal in two places: one was in the Tory Pines area and the other place I was on the way to Palomar mountain. I was unable to navigate even though my GPS was turned ON.

    Does the Google Nav app has all the USA maps downloaded on the phone's memory or does it download as needed over network? I am assuming it downloads as needed and that could be why I was having the problem.
    Last edited by aosman; 01-05-2010 at 03:23 PM. Reason: edit
  7. Master Droid
    Xerozix's Avatar
    Member #
    7274
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    352
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #6
    unfortunately they need to be downloaded as you go.

    I'm waiting until it stores maps on the SD. That will be the day -.-
    Motorola Droid - Cyanogenmod 6.0.0-Droid | apps2SD | bekit 1200

    Sent from my computer through thousands of network nodes to the DroidForums web/mySQL server, then from the web/mySQL server through thousands more of network nodes to your viewing device.
  8. Junior Droid
    thestappa's Avatar
    Member #
    6088
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    16
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Xerozix View Post
    unfortunately they need to be downloaded as you go.

    I'm waiting until it stores maps on the SD. That will be the day -.-

    Yes, that would be great. Even if it's just he basic map with no sat overlay. My cheap little garmen has the maps saved internally.
  9. Senior Droid
    bennyj's Avatar
    Member #
    7828
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    158
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    Since were on the subject of Navigations(don't mean to hi jack the thread)does any one else notice that when using google nav it always wants to put you in the carpool lane if it can? This will screw you up if your driving by yourself and it tells you to slide left to enter a freeway, just to notice it's a carpool lane,, and then you have to try and slide all the way back right, to catch the proper exit!

    Am I missing something here? I see no option to disable this.
  10. Master Droid
    FireDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    16013
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    303
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #9
    Yes, that would be great. Even if it's just he basic map with no sat overlay. My cheap little garmen has the maps saved internally
    Yes but what else does you cheap little Garmin do?? If you remember this is a FREE BETA of the navi program, there are always improvements going on.

    You spent $200 and got a phone, computer, 5mp camera w/ flash, Mp3 player, movie player, game player and a pretty damn good navigation system that also has traffic alert which is only standard on higher end Garmins!!!

    I would say we got a heck of a deal! You Gamin only does navi and maybe stores photos, oh and does your Garmin give you sat overlay? I have 2 Garmins, while nice, they dont come anywhere near the funtionality of the droid!
  11. Senior Droid
    Cowpoke's Avatar
    Member #
    16102
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #10
    If you start your navigation somewhere where you have 3g then the maps DO preload... however if you exit the navigation and then try to fire it up again while in a dead spot you are in trouble. You are also screwed...I think.. if you deviate from it's directions while in a dead zone. It cant reaccess the maps again to figure you out an alternate rout.

    I just drove frm tulsa to Dallas and went through atleast 100 miles of dead zone. On the way there i exited navigation to look at something and didnt get my navigation back untill 60 miles or so later when i approached civilization again. Troublesome because I wasn't sure about a turnoff in that stretch.

    On the way home though i didnt touch it and it did fine through the same area even though pandora completely shut down for over an hour because of reentering the data dead zone (not even 1x). My girlfriend sitting beside me with her droid couldnt access a thing for that 100 mile stretch but my navigation kept on going on.
    Last edited by Cowpoke; 01-05-2010 at 04:26 PM.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Google navigation on Droid
    By wallstreet123456 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-12-2010, 03:28 PM
  2. How can I transfer my Navigation Shortcuts to another Droid?
    By odb93 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 08:53 AM
  3. Verizon promising Google Maps navigation for droid eris Q1 2010
    By bots in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 09:35 PM
  4. Droid Navigation
    By DxtrLws in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-02-2009, 03:31 PM
  5. Video: Droid Navigation VS Mercedes Benz Navi
    By garrett in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-05-2009, 08:46 AM

Search tags for this page

android navigation carpool lane

,

does gps work in a dead zone

,

droid 2 dead spot

,

droid 2 gps dead spots

,

droid gps bionic carpool lane?

,

exit navigation on droid phone

,

gps mercedes

,

how do i exit navigation on droid

,

how do u exit navigation on the droid 2

,

how to start navigation on droid

,

page navigation in droid

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+