DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Google Maps Question

  1. Senior Droid
    hajabooja's Avatar
    Member #
    10401
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    103
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #1

    Google Maps Question

    I feel like I should know this but I wasn't sure. Does Google Maps Navigation pre-load the route? So if I was driving on a route and lost service of any kind would it still navigate with no problem? Obviously if I needed to reroute in some way I would need a data connection.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #2
    I don't know if it preloads it or not but I do know that once you lose connection with the GPS it will tell you so. Don't think there is much to worry about though the GPS navigation on this thing is awesome.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Junior Droid
    Motoman's Avatar
    Member #
    20259
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Moto droid
    #3
    I would have to say it would be ok, send once you have the route location, the only reason fro the connection would be for like turn by turn, or reroute. if you dont need those you should be fine, but the track line in the map its self should stay
  5. Senior Droid
    DarrellM5's Avatar
    Member #
    2087
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    133
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    I live in a very rural area (3 hours from the nearest traffic light) and I can tell you for certain that it will preload the route. The satellite layer will come and go as you go in and out of 3g coverage, but the roads and navigation won't miss a beat.
  6. Senior Droid
    hajabooja's Avatar
    Member #
    10401
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    103
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by DarrellM5 View Post
    I live in a very rural area (3 hours from the nearest traffic light) and I can tell you for certain that it will preload the route. The satellite layer will come and go as you go in and out of 3g coverage, but the roads and navigation won't miss a beat.
    Nice, thanks a lot!

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Maps question
    By silverjk2007 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 01:58 PM
  2. Google maps 3.3.0 Available
    By markmicallef in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 09:48 PM
  3. Google maps/GPS question
    By wallstreet123456 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-03-2009, 11:51 AM
  4. google maps 3.2.1
    By mizark in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2009, 10:30 PM
  5. Question about the Google Maps Navigation
    By azcards11 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-07-2009, 10:40 AM

Search tags for this page

does google precache map along route?
,
droid x2 pre-cache map area
,
google maps plug in to preload route
,

google maps preload route

,
google navigate preload maps
,
google navigation precache rute
,

google navigation preload route

,
google pre-cache maps
,
how to precache google maps on droid x2
,
how to preload a route in google maps
,
maps precache
,
pre cache map samsung
,
precache driving route google maps
,
precache google map driving
,
samsung google map preload
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+