DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: What to do after Factory Reset? DROID 1 v2.2.1

  1. Senior Droid
    iamjoe's Avatar
    Member #
    11166
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    usa - NJ
    Posts
    156
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Bionic Since Day 1
    #1

    What to do after Factory Reset? DROID 1 v2.2.1

    I am about to reset my DROID 1 running 2.2.1 (non rooted). It's been dog slow lately (gallery takes way, way long to load, launcher pro takes way long to load), so I am taking the lunge.

    I have backed up my apps to my sd card and I have an appbrain account so I can re-sync my apps (I believe).

    After I wipe the DROID, what steps do I have to take to get back to the latest OS?

    Thanks
  2. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #2
    Well, what steps have you taken to get rid of the lag? Have you tried switching to ADW?

    Also, I had this saved from somewhere - maybe some of it can help:

    Huskerkate says:

    this works every time for me, and many others (from samsonite801):

    If you use ADW or LauncherPro and if after using your browser, email or any other apps for awhile, then if you press the 'HOME' button, if it takes forever to redraw your home screen, and you are sick of that HORRIBLE LAG, then try this: In a terminal, type su and enter. Then type echo ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 >> /data/local.prop and enter. Then reboot. Now evaluate whether or not this fixes your lag. If you want to undo what this command does, simply remove that toggle from: /data/local.prop

    To remove the toggle: In Root Explorer, go to /data/, tap Mount R/W at the top, then long-press on local.prop and Open in Text Editor, then delete the line: ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1.

    also, you can press menu<preferences<advanced settings<memory usage settings<memory usage preset<select light or low. also, in menu<preferences<general settings<check "keep in memory". finally, you can disable compcache in Term Emu:


    su
    compcache stop
    reboot

    or, you can go into root explorer/system/etc/init.d/ and press "mount r/w" and then rename 90compcache.apk to 90compcache.bak, "mount r/o", and then reboot.


    Good luck.
    Baton Rouge, LA
  3. Master Droid
    chrstdvd's Avatar
    Member #
    122873
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    McKenney Va
    Posts
    577
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Droid Charge
    #3
    Bayou, you should post your answer as a sticky somewhere with an appropriate title. That way I could find it again should I have this problem or other people could find it with a google search if appropiatly tagged.
  4. Senior Droid
    iamjoe's Avatar
    Member #
    11166
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    usa - NJ
    Posts
    156
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Bionic Since Day 1
    #4
    Bayou, can I do this if I am not rooted? If so... how?
  5. Master Droid
    chrstdvd's Avatar
    Member #
    122873
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    McKenney Va
    Posts
    577
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Droid Charge
    #5
    Uhh, all those instructions are for a rooted phone. I ain't steeling Bayou's thunder but sometimes those rescue squad people are real busy and if you do not PM them the never will know you are asking a question. I should have done that myself with my first post.

    Anyway, I can not help you root, you will need to look at the threads for the Droid, it is totally different with the droid 2. Google SuperOneClickv1.5.5-ShortFuse.zip that should get the link for you. That is for the droid 1.
  6. Senior Droid
    iamjoe's Avatar
    Member #
    11166
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    usa - NJ
    Posts
    156
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Bionic Since Day 1
    #6
    Thanks chrstdvd. I will check out the SuperOneClickv1.5.5-ShortFuse.zip.

    If I want to reset my DROID and start fresh, what steps will I have to take to get back up to 2.2.1 ?
  7. Master Droid
    chrstdvd's Avatar
    Member #
    122873
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    McKenney Va
    Posts
    577
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Droid Charge
    #7
    Look at the threads in this forum for directions. I saw one sticky in particular, but you study and ask your questions in that forum rather than this, you will get help you can not get here in the general forum.
    Rescue Squad Guides - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid X factory reset
    By SocalMike in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-06-2010, 05:36 PM
  2. Factory Reset Droid 2?
    By nickguz in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-27-2010, 08:39 AM
  3. Factory Reset Droid X?
    By Hawaiian1der in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-18-2010, 03:01 PM
  4. Droid freezes during factory reset & hard reset
    By cboling99 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 04:48 AM
  5. If i factory reset the Droid X...
    By JHSVOLS25 in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 11:15 AM

Search tags for this page

droid 1 factory reset

,
droid 1 reset
,

factory reset droid

,

factory reset droid 1

,

how to factory reset droid

,
what happens after i reset my incredible 2
,
what to do after droid x hard reset
,

what to do after factory reset

,
what to do after factory reset droid x
,
what to do after resetting droid 2
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+