DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Weak 3G signal?

  1. ICANSEEYOU7687's Avatar
    Member #
    70174
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    71
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Weak 3G signal?

    Well im back home from college, and I noticed my 3G signal has been abnormally weak back in my home town... (and possibly at college too, but since its a major city with more towers, maybe I didnt notice it?)

    But usually at home I have 3-5 bars... and now I have 0-1.

    Now, at first I would chalk this up the the new rom I just flashed (Bugless beat 0.6.1) but my father has an unhacked Droid2, and he has more or less the same signal as me.

    Has anyone else noticed this? Perhaps its LTE upgrades they are doing? Either way, its annoying
  2. RS Lead
    dezymond's Avatar
    Member #
    3167
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    10,397
    Liked
    1042 times
    Phone
    Galaxy s4
    Premium Member
    #2
    what you can try is dialing *228 and then choosing option 2 this should provide a better signal.

    do you happen to be using a different phone now? Sounds like it's just your area and you didn't really notice before.

    when i go to my cousin's house which is like 3 miles away i get basically 0-1 bar, dropping in and out of 3g, at home i have full bars. Even dialing *228 doesn't help at their house so i figure it's the area, even though there's a verizon store a little over 200yds away...very strange...
  3. ICANSEEYOU7687's Avatar
    Member #
    70174
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    71
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    *228 and option 2 will just reprogram the phone?

    But, no, I have had my droid since Day 1, when they were released.
  4. RS Lead
    dezymond's Avatar
    Member #
    3167
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    10,397
    Liked
    1042 times
    Phone
    Galaxy s4
    Premium Member
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by ICANSEEYOU7687 View Post
    *228 and option 2 will just reprogram the phone?

    But, no, I have had my droid since Day 1, when they were released.
    doing that little step sometimes helps with my signal.

    i believe what it does is it updates to the nearest cell tower, giving you better signal
  5. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #5
    It updates the PRL. In some case it helps. In some cases it doesn't. It's not a panacea for coverage issues as many make it out to be.

    Quote Originally Posted by ICANSEEYOU7687 View Post
    But usually at home I have 3-5 bars... and now I have 0-1.
    Are you actually having problems with placing/receiving calls or using data? Or are you just fixated on the number? The number of bars isn't quite as important with CDMA, IIRC.

    If you're really concerned you need to be looking at dBm, not bars.
  6. Premium Member
    *22899's Avatar
    Member #
    75172
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    519
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    3 original Droids
    Premium Member
    #6
    I always make sure to have data roaming turned on in settings also. Some ROMs have it checked for you already some don't.

    This Probably doesn't make a difference for most people but by me Verizon uses another company's towers to help with signal strength when need be. (or so they told me)
  7. Droid
    A Nobody's Avatar
    Member #
    153915
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    39
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #7
    Try switching to airplane mode let it sit for 30 secs then back to 3g...that resets it and help me out.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Samsung Galaxy S Weak signal after Froyo custom Rom upgrade.
    By abuayyoub in forum Samsung Fascinate Development
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 07:06 AM
  2. froyo 2.2 seems weak right now
    By Dannysdman in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 11:45 PM
  3. BB V4 weak Signal??
    By droid master in forum Bugless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 06:38 PM
  4. Disappointed by weak signal (dropped calls)
    By Ghalt in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-26-2010, 03:36 PM
  5. Weak signal strength
    By trife in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-12-2010, 02:02 PM

Search tags for this page

droid x weak 3 g signal
,
droid x weak 3g
,
how can you get a better 3g signel
,
my phones 3g signal is weak
,

verizon 3g weak

,
verizon weak 3g signal
,
weak 3g
,

weak 3g signal

,
weak 3g signal droid
,

why is my 3g signal weak

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+