DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Won't mount on Vista 64-bit

  1. Droid Newbie
    porschedude90210's Avatar
    Member #
    1540
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    Won't mount on Vista 64-bit

    I've been extremely frustrated for several hours trying to mount my Droid on my PC running Vista 64-bit. It mounted properly the first time, I pulled down the notification tab, then clicked mount, etc. It worked for a few minutes, then I started getting the "Please insert disk" error. And I've been getting that since. I've manually uninstalled the drivers multiple times, and at a few times, it will mount, and I will see the files, but seconds later, I get the "Please insert disk" error.

    If anyone knows a fix for this, please let me know. Oh, and it isn't the Card, I was able to put it into a card reader and it worked fine.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Newbie
    Jsimpson66's Avatar
    Member #
    57675
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    I have the same problem running Vista 32. My solution, while not really a solution, is to mount on my linux machine. Works every time there. I only use Windows for school, and if I could get around a few necessary problems there, I'd not be using Windows at all.

  4. Droid Ninja
    Jim 777's Avatar
    Member #
    19480
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,271
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    See my sig, silly!
    #3
    try it with your USB debugging on. For some reason it was doing the same on my older Dell running XP Pro. Turning on the debugging took care of it.
    Droid Razr
    Custom Dialers for D1
    My broken glass icons: Broken Icons | Android Logo Icons (in progress): Android Icons

  5. Droid Newbie
    mimilee's Avatar
    Member #
    53460
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    having same problem with 64 bit Windows 7 (laptop). Tried with debugging on. It did install the driver for the Motorola A855 and it does show as a disk drive in Device Manager but it will not mount. Sometimes it will briefly flash as E drive but quickly disappears. Works fine on my 32 bit Windows 7 computer.
  6. Senior Droid
    machineheadg2r's Avatar
    Member #
    7379
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    216
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #5
    I have 64 and it works for me. When it asks to install drivers just close that box out. Then pop up should come up when you mount the sd card if you want to open it with explorer
    BB0.3 OC'd @ 1000mhz
    Darkedge
    ChevyNo1 7 slot 1000mhz kernel
    Bodyglove Case and Invisishield
  7. Senior Droid
    IN AWE's Avatar
    Member #
    10133
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    157
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6

    Work around

    Quote Originally Posted by porschedude90210 View Post
    I've been extremely frustrated for several hours trying to mount my Droid on my PC running Vista 64-bit. It mounted properly the first time, I pulled down the notification tab, then clicked mount, etc. It worked for a few minutes, then I started getting the "Please insert disk" error. And I've been getting that since. I've manually uninstalled the drivers multiple times, and at a few times, it will mount, and I will see the files, but seconds later, I get the "Please insert disk" error.

    If anyone knows a fix for this, please let me know. Oh, and it isn't the Card, I was able to put it into a card reader and it worked fine.
    I too have this problem. The only way I have found to mount every time without exception is to use the Motorola Driver Installer and clean the drivers BEFORE i connect and try to mount phone.
    Here is a link to installer.
    USB and PC Charging Drivers - Motorola USA
    First run Motorola driver installer exe.
    Then select clean only and start.
    then connect and mount.
  8. Master Droid
    mikeinctown's Avatar
    Member #
    10330
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    342
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    Will have to try the new drivers. Before this 2.1 update I had no problem mounting the phone to my computer. Was able to copy ~10 gigs of music over at one point. Now I can't even get the computer to recognize the phone and I get all sorts of problems.
  9. Beta Team
    Flomaster's Avatar
    Member #
    27560
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    1,073
    Liked
    2 times
    Twitter
    _Flomaster
    Phone
    DROOOOOOOOOOOiid
    Premium Member
    #8
    download and install the motorola driver again
    USB and PC Charging Drivers - Motorola USA

    -=Jason=-.
  10. Master Droid
    Sweettooth's Avatar
    Member #
    27656
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    726
    Liked
    60 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #9
    I have Windows 7 64-bit here at work and 32-bit at home and it works no problem. Not sure why it wouldn't work on Vista. You may need to uninstall the mass storage driver and let it reinstall it when you plug it back in.
  11. Beta Team
    Flomaster's Avatar
    Member #
    27560
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    1,073
    Liked
    2 times
    Twitter
    _Flomaster
    Phone
    DROOOOOOOOOOOiid
    Premium Member
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Sweettooth View Post
    I have Windows 7 64-bit here at work and 32-bit at home and it works no problem. Not sure why it wouldn't work on Vista. You may need to uninstall the mass storage driver and let it reinstall it when you plug it back in.
    I have win7 Prox64 at home and I have not have any problem I used the newest updated drivers from Motorola and every thing is peachy.

    1.if your device is not connecting try updating your driver
    2.after you have updated driver and still not working update your usb hardware driver
    3. if both of those dont work, use a different USB cord.

    if any of the above 3 don't work then I have no idea how to help

    -=Jason=-
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid vehicle mount for VZNav and VCast!
    By Guindalf in forum Android Accessories
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-17-2009, 10:47 AM

Search tags for this page

cannot hook up droid x to my pc running 64 bit vista

,
droid 2 won't mount
,
droid 3 windows vista won't work
,
droid bionic computer vista won't recognize
,
droid x won't work with vista
,
droid x wont work with vista 64
,
how to mount galaxy nexus on windows 7 64 bit
,
incredible 2 won't mount vista
,
incredible won't connect to vista 64 bit
,
vista won't recognize droid razr
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+