DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: foxfi not working on droid incredible 4g htc with ics platform

  1. Droid Newbie
    jpvd's Avatar
    Member #
    284115
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    droid incredible 4g
    #1

    foxfi not working on droid incredible 4g htc with ics platform

    Is there a problem with the ics platform running foxfi on it. My sister in law has a droid charge with the older platform and can run foxfi just fine. I have the htc incredible 4g with the ics and cant get foxfi to work worth a crap. It says devices are connected to it but none of my devices i have connected to it will pull up the internet. Any suggestions on what i can or cant do to get it to work.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Newbie
    otherguy's Avatar
    Member #
    284345
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE
    #2
    I just downloaded FoxFi today for my new Droid Incredible 4G LTE running ICS and I'm having the same problem. Multiple devices can connect and seem to have internet access, but none can pull up webpages. Each time I was on the 4G network and had at least 10Mbps down and 4Mbps up. This makes me think... I'm going to try it with 4G off when I get home.
  4. Droid Newbie
    jpvd's Avatar
    Member #
    284115
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    droid incredible 4g
    #3
    I am glad you are having the same problem with your phone as well. This has been driving me nuts why i cant get it to work. I downloaded the ad on for foxfi and what happened when i did that was my sister in law was able to access the internet off her phone using my wifi from foxfi but i still could not get on the computer or my wifes kindell would not work as well. Here I bought the more expensive phone thinking it would work and i should of went with the cheaper phone. Let me know what you come up with. Thanks for the reply back.
  5. Droid Newbie
    otherguy's Avatar
    Member #
    284345
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE
    #4
    Yes, it's nice to know you're not alone when problems arise.

    I found this thread on xda: Does FoxFi work when not rooted? - xda-developers

    The just of that thread is if you use the proxy setting offered by the FoxFi add-on you can access the internet that way. However this doesn't help us for using apps on android devices. You could always root android devices though so that you could use your apps on a proxy. I tested this just now and it works. My coworker's i-pad was able to browse via my hotspot once he set up the proxy.
  6. Moderator
    bsweetness's Avatar
    Member #
    42719
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,481
    Liked
    361 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S5
    Premium Member
    #5
    FoxFi has always had problems with HTC devices. Even though the Play store description says it should work with most newer HTC devices on ICS, there's still a chance that it won't work at all.

    According to this thread at XDA, you'll need to install FoxFi AddOn and use the included proxy.
    Current lineup: Galaxy S5, iPhone 5S, Note 10.1 (2014)

    Previous smartphones: Note 3, HTC One, Note 2, Galaxy S3, One X, RAZR MAXX, Galaxy Nexus, Rezound, Note, iPhone 4S, Bionic, Stratosphere, Charge, Vitality, Incredible 2, Thunderbolt, Palm Pixi Plus, Droid 3, Fascinate, Incredible, Droid Pro, Droid 2 Global, Droid X, Droid, Treo Pro, Touch Pro 2, Touch Pro, Q9m, XV6800, XV6900

    Previous tablets: iPad Mini, Transformer TF300, Evo View, Transformer Prime, Transformer TF101, Thrive, gTablet
  7. Droid Newbie
    otherguy's Avatar
    Member #
    284345
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE
    #6
    I also just found this thread: foxfi = infastructure mode on transform ultra - Android Forums

    Which suggests that if you change your DNS settings to that of open DNS it should get your browser going. There is a market app called set DNS which can do this for android devices. The app's page claims that it may "break wifi" for non-rooted phones, but it seems most likely that people are somehow putting in the wrong name server details. Nevertheless I'd stick with the proxy setting for now if you're not comfortable with networking stuff.
  8. Droid Newbie
    hartman3's Avatar
    Member #
    325506
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE
    #7

    FoxFi now works on Droid Incredible 4G

    bsweetness is correct, I just installed the addon & now FoxFi is working on my Droid Incredible 4G LTE as I have my iPod touch connected to it.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Is your FoxFi still working?
    By GrmReaper in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-23-2012, 06:42 PM
  2. Droid X2 Foxfi not working
    By Clhorne in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-05-2012, 12:25 PM
  3. Foxfi not working after ICS
    By excel25 in forum Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2012, 01:26 PM
  4. FoxFi not working anymore?
    By hAHAha Halo in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-23-2012, 02:16 PM
  5. FoxFi - anyone got it working Wifi?
    By dsakfong in forum LG Spectrum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2012, 02:42 PM

Search tags for this page

foxfi droid incredible
,

foxfi droid incredible 4g

,

foxfi for htc

,

foxfi htc incredible 4g

,

foxfi htc incredible 4g lte

,

foxfi incredible 4g

,
foxfi on htc droid incredible 4g
,
foxfi on incredible 4g
,
htc incredible 4g foxfi
,
htc incredible 4g lte foxfi
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+