DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Question about flashing roms

  1. Droid Newbie
    barry2x's Avatar
    Member #
    144887
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #1

    Question about flashing roms

    when i flash a custom rom not a stock rom will it change the prl on my phone?
    Last edited by barry2x; 12-05-2010 at 06:48 PM.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #2
    Not sure -- I expect that it could.... Since you typically have to reactivate and all. Why do you ask?
  4. Droid Newbie
    barry2x's Avatar
    Member #
    144887
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid 1
    #3
    my droid is on appalachian wireless and i don't wanna mess up the pri or prl settings
  5. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #4
    PRL is separate from the radio (unless I'm mistaken.....) As long as your ROM doesnt mess with the radio, it shouldnt matter.

    Someone more experienced, please correct me.
  6. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #5
    ROMs do not mess with the radios(basebands) or PRLs. Flash ROM after ROM and these won't change.

    Sent from somewhere...
  7. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #6
    And updating your PRL is a good idea every couple of weeks anyway.
  8. Junior Droid
    icemanak's Avatar
    Member #
    156746
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    A854
    #7
    I flashed my Alaska GCI a854 milestone/droid...with bugless and then cyanogen..I do see the baseband change from my stock 2.1 update1..My apn changes too..still working on getting the APN fixed..so be warned not sure about the PRLs
  9. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #8
    The baseband was updated from 2.1 to 2.2, yes.
  10. Junior Droid
    pepinocho9's Avatar
    Member #
    103969
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Droid
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by icemanak View Post
    I flashed my Alaska GCI a854 milestone/droid...with bugless and then cyanogen..I do see the baseband change from my stock 2.1 update1..My apn changes too..still working on getting the APN fixed..so be warned not sure about the PRLs

    Is your Motorola Droid a GSM or a CDMA version?

    If it is a CDMA, installing custom ROM's will NOT mess with your radio settings, or PRL or Data Acces Setting. Radio settings are not stored on NAND or Flash, they are on another place :P (If you flash a Baseband they will change)

    If your Droid is GSM APN settings may be erased, because they're stored on phone memory.
  11. Junior Droid
    icemanak's Avatar
    Member #
    156746
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    A854
    #10
    I have the a854 Milestone..CDMA..but if i flash say cyanogens I see the baseband is different and if I open apn..it will say verizon and not GCI. bugless beast and ultimate droid do the same

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Saving Games for a flash with new roms
    By Darksthour in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2010, 09:26 PM
  2. LG Ally won't flash roms...help!!!
    By mbktackle51 in forum Android Themes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-2010, 10:00 PM
  3. Those who flash a lot of ROMs Do you still use Swype
    By REARless in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-19-2010, 04:52 PM
  4. Is it possible to flash ROMs too often?
    By JasumX in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 03:14 PM
  5. Flash ROMs with Nandroid or Update .zip?
    By DanielC in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 12:52 AM

Search tags for this page

appalachian wireless apn settings

,

appalachian wireless prl

,
does flashing rom on hone change the baseband
,
does flashing roms change radios?
,
flashing changed apn
,
gci alaska prl
,
gci alaska prl update
,
gci apn zip
,

gci prl

,
how to flash a cmda phone to gci
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+