DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: youtube question

  1. Senior Droid
    metalmenance's Avatar
    Member #
    2525
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Knoxville TN
    Posts
    224
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid Incredible!!! Rockin...
    #1

    youtube question

    I am wondering if anyone knows of a way to have youtube display in high quality by default instead of having to select it each time.
    My speed plays the high quality without a flaw everytime and it would just be nice to have this option. Until now with the droid i wasnt a big youtube person but man I am now!!!

    Side note,,,,, had many windows mobile devices and even couple BB
    and I personally think even with its new device quirks that should be worked out with updates, this droid is by far the fastest device i have owned and am very happy with what it offers over the others
    HTC Droid Incredible!!!
    Very Fast & Smooth...
    Rooted, Running 2.2 Froyo

    Baddass Smartphone just got Better, Faster & Slicker
  2. Droid
    blu1080's Avatar
    Member #
    1923
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UT
    Posts
    76
    Phone
    Rooted HTC Thunderbolt
    #2
    I want to know how to do that as well!
  3. Master Droid
    mach330's Avatar
    Member #
    1784
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    The OC
    Posts
    683
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #3
    hopefully it's part of the dec 11 update. that would be nice. i did notice that it goes to high res if you're in wifi by default.
  4. Droid
    Lafond's Avatar
    Member #
    1810
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by mach330 View Post
    hopefully it's part of the dec 11 update. that would be nice. i did notice that it goes to high res if you're in wifi by default.
    Hmm, well that leads me to believe it was an issue Verizon sought to implement on the phone in an effort to not clog up the network as much.

    Still would like a workaround to have default HD video to make use of the absolutely amazing screen resolution on this thing.
  5. Master Droid
    moosc's Avatar
    Member #
    561
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    lincolnton nc
    Posts
    261
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #5
    i love those hq youtube vids. just awesome..
  6. Droid Ninja
    Stigy's Avatar
    Member #
    745
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,084
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #6
    Actually you can already do this...

    If you are on Wifi the HQ videos will play by default, BUT if you are on 3G they won't. To activate the HQ video on Youtube, when the video starts playing hit Menu > More > Watching in high quality.

    And then enjoy the amazing-ness that is the DROID screen.
  7. Master Droid
    Sweet Daddy's Avatar
    Member #
    585
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    315
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #7
    If you are on the 3G network, it defaults to "normal quality". If you are connected to wifi, it defaults to "high quality".
  8. Beta Team
    JonKyu's Avatar
    Member #
    4977
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Provo, UT
    Posts
    2,398
    Phone
    DROID X
    #8
    I really hope they have a fix for this as this is really annoying. I really wish their youtube app was a bit more polished. I'd really like to be able to see my "newest Subscription" videos like on the youtube site/iPod touch.
  9. Master Droid
    Big Cam's Avatar
    Member #
    2990
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    920
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy Nexus: Sourcerized
    #9
    Sounds like a cookie issue, on my Blackberry (verizon) once I choose HQ, every video I go to is HQ if available.

    Are you signed in at youtube? This might help.
  10. Droid
    Lafond's Avatar
    Member #
    1810
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #10
    I don't think it's a cookie issue, I think Verizon didn't want people eating up bandwidth streaming HQ videos as default.

    This is with me both being logged out and signed in to YouTube.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Youtube app crashes
    By chilster in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-30-2010, 07:26 PM
  2. Upload video to youtube
    By bal81 in forum Android Audio and Video
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-10-2010, 03:56 PM
  3. Why do Youtube videos look so bad?
    By dafortune in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 04:25 PM
  4. Can't Sign into YouTube
    By travismarcum in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-10-2009, 03:05 PM
  5. YouTube sign-in error
    By manbearpig in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-10-2009, 10:14 AM
Find us on Google+