DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: SKYPE in Europe

  1. blakebritton's Avatar
    Member #
    136486
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cullman, AL
    Posts
    31
    Twitter
    blakebritton
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S III
    #1

    SKYPE in Europe

    I am planning a trip to Europe in two weeks and I was wondering if I would be able to use Skype on my Droid X IF I were only using wi-fi. I know that the phone itself isn't compatible there.
  2. Master Droid
    SGTiger's Avatar
    Member #
    2353
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    511
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #2
    As long as you're not using the Verizon version which doesn't allow wifi. Grab the other version of Skype that is floating around these forums and you'll be able to use wifi just fine.
  3. blakebritton's Avatar
    Member #
    136486
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cullman, AL
    Posts
    31
    Twitter
    blakebritton
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S III
    #3
    so it doesn't matter where in the world you are if you are placing a wifi to phone call?
  4. Master Droid
    SGTiger's Avatar
    Member #
    2353
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    511
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by blakebritton View Post
    so it doesn't matter where in the world you are if you are placing a wifi to phone call?
    No not as long as there is no firewall that restricts certain websites. For example, you know the Chinese government tries to block content to a certain degree though I doubt skype servers would be blocked.

    If you are going to only place calls back to the US of A or Canada, skype offers a subscription that allows you make unlimited calls for one low price. I pay $9 for three months of unlimited calling ($3 per month). Hard to beat that. I got that deal on Oct 7th, and I don't know how much it is now.

    I cannot reiterate enough. If skype came with your phone, then it has wifi disabled. You must get the wifi version and install it.
    Last edited by SGTiger; 11-11-2010 at 05:07 PM.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone Use Their Droid in Europe?
    By EuropeBound in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 06:18 AM
  2. europe
    By XMan74 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 08:05 PM
  3. skype to skype calls charging me minutes
    By derrtysky in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-21-2010, 10:35 PM
  4. wifi in Europe
    By jhusted in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-15-2010, 03:52 PM
  5. Droid in Europe
    By kilton in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 08:47 AM

Search tags for this page

can you skye from samsung to usa from europe

,
can you use skype to make phone calls in europe
,
how to use skype from europe
,

skype android europe

,

skype from europe to us

,

skype in europe android

,
skypeing in europe
,

using droid 2 global in europe

,

using motorola droid in europe

,
using skype in europe
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+