DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Swype Voice Input

  1. Droid Ninja
    jerroedr's Avatar
    Member #
    103683
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,193
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #1

    Swype Voice Input

    Anyone out there know of a way to get voice input for swype on a d1?
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Rooted
    Stock ICS
    No SetCPU
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    jerroedr's Avatar
    Member #
    103683
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,193
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #2
    anyone out there?
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Rooted
    Stock ICS
    No SetCPU
  4. Droid Ninja
    LifeIsABeach's Avatar
    Member #
    359
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,290
    Liked
    2 times
    #3
    Do you have the latest Swype beta? If so when the keybaord is up hit the menu and you will see a microphone icon which will put you into voice input.
  5. Droid Ninja
    jerroedr's Avatar
    Member #
    103683
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,193
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #4
    i do have the newest but the feature isnt there
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Rooted
    Stock ICS
    No SetCPU
  6. Droid Ninja
    Se7enLC's Avatar
    Member #
    5148
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,263
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by jerroedr View Post
    i do have the newest but the feature isnt there
    Seconded. There is no mic button in swype beta on the droid.

    EDIT: I looked into this more. The mic button is only available for certain releases and certain devices - but nothing for the Droid. The Droid-2, X, and Incredible, perhaps - but not the Droid
    Last edited by Se7enLC; 10-12-2010 at 11:45 AM.
    Cool CM Tricks
    custom_backup_list.txt - make a list of files in /system that will survive a nightly install (ringtones, notifications, system apps, wallpapers, whatever)
    in Terminal Emulator, set this as your shell command: "/system/xbin/su -c /system/xbin/bash". You get all the features of bash, root access, and you can still use the initial command field for whatever you want (default is adding /data/local/bin to your path)
  7. Droid Ninja
    tu3218's Avatar
    Member #
    5875
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Posts
    1,219
    Phone
    Droid
    #6
    You can hit the menu button, an there will option labeled as "speak". Thats for voice input.
  8. Droid Ninja
    LifeIsABeach's Avatar
    Member #
    359
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,290
    Liked
    2 times
    #7
    I am using the latest Swype beta on the original Droid and I get a speaker icon if I hit the menu button while the keyboard is up while in Handcent. Not sure which of those variables are different on our phones, but it is definitely there.

    Edit - Hmmm....I think it is a Handcent thing. Mea Cupla!
  9. Master Droid
    forkup's Avatar
    Member #
    184
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    317
    #8
    It's there for me with handcent also.
  10. Droid Ninja
    Se7enLC's Avatar
    Member #
    5148
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,263
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #9
    Yeah, it must be part of the app, not the keyboard. Try it for a normal textbox (gmail, browser, etc) and you'll find that it's not there.
    Cool CM Tricks
    custom_backup_list.txt - make a list of files in /system that will survive a nightly install (ringtones, notifications, system apps, wallpapers, whatever)
    in Terminal Emulator, set this as your shell command: "/system/xbin/su -c /system/xbin/bash". You get all the features of bash, root access, and you can still use the initial command field for whatever you want (default is adding /data/local/bin to your path)
  11. Droid Ninja
    jerroedr's Avatar
    Member #
    103683
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,193
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #10
    yea, i dont have handcent and its not there. only thing my phone is missing until i think of the next thing my phone is missing
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Rooted
    Stock ICS
    No SetCPU
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Voice input
    By Jack$on in forum cvpcs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 12:06 PM
  2. Voice Input Feature Coming Soon To Swype
    By Shadez in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2010, 03:31 PM
  3. Voice input mic disappearing act
    By Larry_ThaGr81 in forum Bugless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2010, 09:13 AM
  4. Voice Search and input?
    By zerodamage in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 11:46 AM
  5. How to get voice input in messaging
    By lindaandmike in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-29-2009, 08:46 PM

Search tags for this page

cyanogenmod 7 swype microphone
,
cyanogenmod 7 voice input
,
droid gingerbread voice input
,
how to set up voice input on orginal motorola droid
,

swype voice

,

swype voice input

,
swype voice input missing
,

swype voice input not working

,
swype with voice input
,
voice input gingerbread
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+