DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 73 of 108 FirstFirst ... 2363717273747583 ... LastLast
Results 721 to 730 of 1072
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: What have YOU done with Tasker?

  1. Senior Droid
    lyam's Avatar
    Member #
    33486
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    157
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    Try using the Missed Call State instead of using the Missed Call Event.

    Quote Originally Posted by Version_3 View Post
    There are some amazing profiles here, so I'm hoping someone can help me with this, if possible.

    What I am trying to do is have Text Widget show who I missed a call from. I tried to adapt the missed call setup that NebulaOcton helped establish in This Post, but it's not passing %CNAME correctly and not resetting the message after checking the call log.

    Profile: Missed Call
    Event: Missed Call
    Task Edit:
    -> Variable Set: %MCCLEAR to 0
    -> tText widget configuration: tasker variable name: Missed | Message: Missed call from %CNAME
    -> Wait 2 minutes
    -> tText Widget configuration: tasker variable name: Missed | Message: No missed calls
    -> Stop if %MCCLEAR ~ 1
    -> Goto action 2

    Then:
    Profile: Missed Call Clear
    Application: Contacts
    Task Edit:
    -> Variable Set: %MCCLEAR to 1

    The end result is when I have a missed call, the text widget shows "Missed call from: %CNAME" and when I check the call log, the message doesn't clear. The other part of it is, if I change %CNAME to %BATT, the widget will show "Missed call from: 100", and won't change even after I check the call log.
  2. Droid
    Version_3's Avatar
    Member #
    115500
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    59
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    Quote Originally Posted by lyam View Post
    Try using the Missed Call State instead of using the Missed Call Event.
    Thank you, it now flips to No missed calls after 2 minutes!
    However, it still shows "Missed call from: %CNAME" instead of the actual name. I tried %CTIME and that doesn't work also. but like before, %BATT does.
    I built an AOSP ROM for Droid's. It's installed on a total of 2. At least my wife enjoys my work.
    You can follow me on Twitter if you want, although I promise nothing. @Version_3
  3. Senior Droid
    lyam's Avatar
    Member #
    33486
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    157
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    Quote Originally Posted by Version_3 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by lyam View Post
    Try using the Missed Call State instead of using the Missed Call Event.
    Thank you, it now flips to No missed calls after 2 minutes!
    However, it still shows "Missed call from: %CNAME" instead of the actual name. I tried %CTIME and that doesn't work also. but like before, %BATT does.
    Try dumping the value of the %CNAME variable into a user variable via Variable Set and using the user variable in the text widget.
  4. Droid
    Version_3's Avatar
    Member #
    115500
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    59
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    Quote Originally Posted by lyam View Post

    Try dumping the value of the %CNAME variable into a user variable via Variable Set and using the user variable in the text widget.
    Wow, works great!!! Added %MISS1 set to variable %CNAME and it works. THANK YOU!

    If we had upvotes here, you'd get a massive one from me.
    Last edited by Version_3; 01-13-2011 at 08:20 PM. Reason: forgot some things
    I built an AOSP ROM for Droid's. It's installed on a total of 2. At least my wife enjoys my work.
    You can follow me on Twitter if you want, although I promise nothing. @Version_3
  5. Master Droid
    NebulaOcton's Avatar
    Member #
    80961
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    329
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    I am back, I was on a cruise in the Bahamas for a week.

    If anyone needs anything, let me know but I see you guys have done great without me (not that I think I am some magical tasker genius and you must have my input on every task you write , I don't)
  6. Droid
    Version_3's Avatar
    Member #
    115500
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    59
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    Hey, welcome back NebulaOcton! Hope you had a good time.

    On topic, I had a snag with Tasker this morning with the handoff between 2 profiles.


    Profile 1 is a docked in a car dock state.
    -Tasks:
    -->Turn on BT
    -->Set media volume to 15
    -->Load Music Mod
    -->GTalk Updater set to "Busy | Driving - Responses will be delayed"
    -Exit task:
    -->Bluetooth off
    -->Set media volume to 3
    -->Gtalk updater set to "Available | [None]"

    Profile 2 is a cell near state.
    -Tasks:
    -->WiFi off
    -->Gtalk Updater ser to "Busy | At work - Responses may be delayed"

    Profile 1 works great, sets me to driving. However, after I undocked, it went available, and never set to "At work". What am I doing wrong?
    I built an AOSP ROM for Droid's. It's installed on a total of 2. At least my wife enjoys my work.
    You can follow me on Twitter if you want, although I promise nothing. @Version_3
  7. Master Droid
    NebulaOcton's Avatar
    Member #
    80961
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    329
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    You probably set profile two off before you undocked.

    One way to prevent it from going available is to set a variable %ATWORK to 1 when your second profile goes triggers. Then add an exit task to set %ATWORK to 0

    Then in the exit of the first profile set an if condition for the Gtalk updater to check if %ATWORK is 1.

    That should prevent it from going available.
  8. Senior Droid
    lyam's Avatar
    Member #
    33486
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    157
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    Quote Originally Posted by Version_3 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by lyam View Post

    Try dumping the value of the %CNAME variable into a user variable via Variable Set and using the user variable in the text widget.
    Wow, works great!!! Added %MISS1 set to variable %CNAME and it works. THANK YOU!

    If we had upvotes here, you'd get a massive one from me.
    busted
  9. Droid
    Version_3's Avatar
    Member #
    115500
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    59
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    Quote Originally Posted by NebulaOcton View Post
    You probably set profile two off before you undocked.

    One way to prevent it from going available is to set a variable %ATWORK to 1 when your second profile goes triggers. Then add an exit task to set %ATWORK to 0

    Then in the exit of the first profile set an if condition for the Gtalk updater to check if %ATWORK is 1.

    That should prevent it from going available.
    Ok, I think I got it. I makeshift tested it with a desk dock in the order things should happen to activate the profiles.

    Profile 1, I added a Stop if %ATWORK ~ 1 just before the GTalk Updater setting to Available in the exit task.

    Profile 2, I set a variable of %ATWORK ~ 1 at the beginning of the start task, and then set the GTalk updater to set GTalk to At Work if %ATWORK ~ 1. The exit task is to set the %ATWORK variable to 0.
    I built an AOSP ROM for Droid's. It's installed on a total of 2. At least my wife enjoys my work.
    You can follow me on Twitter if you want, although I promise nothing. @Version_3
  10. Droid
    kirra27's Avatar
    Member #
    55323
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Beach CA
    Posts
    47
    Phone
    Droid by Motorola
    Hi everyone,

    I made a profile based on this tasker stepthrough:


    "If my phone is stolen:
    This profile activates GPS upon receiving a keyword text message, gets the current location with the GPS satellites (in the format 40.123214,-17.243243; to be plugged into google maps for location) and sends these back to the sender. Here is how I set it up:

    New Context > Event > Phone > Received Text leave the sender blank (unless you want to specify only numbers that this can work with), make a tagline that isn't usual (so it doesn't trigger for weird people).

    These are the tasks for the context:
    1) New Task > GPS: Set ON
    2) "+" [new task] > Misc > Get Location;
    3) (tasks 3-whatever, in my case 8) "+" > Audio > (I turn down all audio so the thief doesn't get notifications, etc.)
    9) "+" > Phone > Send SMS: Number = "%SMSRF" ; Message = "I am at GPS coordinates: %LOC" (no quotes in actual boxes)

    (optional two tasks)
    10) Calendar Insert Description = "%LOC" (again no quotes)
    11) + > Display > Lock (this isn't a very good lock application, there are easy ways around it. Instead, you could get App Protector Pro and use + > App > Load App > App Protector Pro and lock everything).
    12) Email photos snapped (you can figure this out, I don't find it useful)"

    Everything works great and so I wanted to try out some of the optional ones listed at the bottom. In particular #11. I have App Protector Pro and I am able to successfully get Tasker to open up once the text message is received. But I can't figure out how to have Tasker make the program actually lock up the phone. I know that App Protector Pro does have a widget for quickly locking and unlocking all apps. Is there maybe someway for Tasker to activate it?

    (I tried contacting the person who wrote the step-through but no response so far.)
Page 73 of 108 FirstFirst ... 2363717273747583 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Android Application Tasker
    By RW-1 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 12-27-2010, 12:02 PM
  2. How to set up Tasker
    By Tbone9191 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 08:39 AM
  3. Locale/Tasker using calendar?
    By harrellj in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 05:39 PM
  4. Using Tasker + Good Morning as an ultimate personal assistant
    By jamsesh in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 01:00 PM

Search tags for this page

android tasker examples

,
android tasker profiles
,

best tasker profiles

,
how to use tasker
,
tasker android examples
,

tasker examples

,
tasker forums
,

tasker profiles

,
tasker scenes
,
what have you done with tasker
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+