DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 6 of 108 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 16 56 106 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 1072
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: What have YOU done with Tasker?

  1. Droid
    bucknutz's Avatar
    Member #
    92405
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    46
    Phone
    Droid X
    #51
    I purchased "Tasker" and will be posting here with i'm sure many thoughts and questions. Hopefully I can find some contribution along the way as well.
  2. Droid Newbie
    dilirum's Avatar
    Member #
    100212
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    HTC Hero Android 2.1
    #52
    Thanks for the tips 25cent! I love Tasker ...

    I modified my SMS to look like this:
    (note: the %LOC is the variable which is at the end of the URL. This URL will link to a google map of your phone location this way.)
    Code:
    http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=sq&hl=en&geocode=&q=%LOC
    
    Provider: %LOP     Accuracy: %LOA meters
    Battery: %BATT %
    The provider variable basically just shows you if the coordinates that are being reported to you are GPS or cell tower based.

    I also learned that I can put in a "wait" task (and set it to 15-seconds) after my GPS turns on, otherwise the coordinates provided aren't GPS based because my GPS doesn't have enough time to get the bearings before sending the SMS. Then of course the other important task that I added was to turn GPS off after sending the sms.

    There are also a lot of other cool variables you can include like sending the last phone number dialed, or the last picture taken.

    Amazing tool Tasker is!
  3. Droid Newbie
    Rodskii's Avatar
    Member #
    100341
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Droid X
    #53
    So I just bought tasker today and have been messing around with it. Made a little task that basically gets the weather XML code from yahoo.weather and parses out the condition code. IE: 30 = Partly Cloudy. I then have tasker assign a different wallpaper depending on the condition. I am going to mess around with it some more but as it stands now it's going to be a storage hog considering yahoo weather has 48 different weather codes and I don't want to use a wallpaper for every different one.

    I know tasker has IF statements but do you know if you can do an IF/ELSE statement? Therefore i could setup wallpapers for the standard condition like Sunny, Partyl Sunny, Night, ETC and then have it default to a general one if they don't match.
  4. Droid Ninja
    harrellj's Avatar
    Member #
    94200
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,063
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #54
    Quote Originally Posted by Rodskii View Post
    So I just bought tasker today and have been messing around with it. Made a little task that basically gets the weather XML code from yahoo.weather and parses out the condition code. IE: 30 = Partly Cloudy. I then have tasker assign a different wallpaper depending on the condition. I am going to mess around with it some more but as it stands now it's going to be a storage hog considering yahoo weather has 48 different weather codes and I don't want to use a wallpaper for every different one.

    I know tasker has IF statements but do you know if you can do an IF/ELSE statement? Therefore i could setup wallpapers for the standard condition like Sunny, Partyl Sunny, Night, ETC and then have it default to a general one if they don't match.
    If you have Beautiful Widgets, you can get Beautiful Live Wallpaper which gives you a live wallpaper with the current weather. Doesn't appear to be a battery hog (for me at least).
  5. Droid Newbie
    anthonyb84's Avatar
    Member #
    99409
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid X
    #55
    nevermind... i found it.. i'm an idiot! lol

    this thing is pretty sweet!
    Last edited by anthonyb84; 08-07-2010 at 12:34 PM. Reason: found my error...
  6. Droid Newbie
    giodelgado's Avatar
    Member #
    100495
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Nexus One LeoFroyo AT&T
    #56
    I just installed Tasker and I find annoying that it gives me a popup to let me know that GPS is ON and I have to click on the notification to do what I want to.

    How can I disable that?
  7. Junior Droid
    nitrate's Avatar
    Member #
    100535
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Bionic (crap)
    #57
    Is there anywhere that anyone knows off to learn how to use Tasker better? I have limited programming knowledge and there are some tasks I would like to create, but can't seem to find information on how to do so. I have checked out the Tasker wiki and didn't find what I am looking for. How do I know when i need a variable? or a %LOC, and where do I find commands such as %batt, %batt, ect.

    Anyone know of a better site with more information on it?
  8. Droid
    Noogums's Avatar
    Member #
    21322
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    45
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #58
    Here's some I made just to fix some minor annoyances:

    What it does: When camera is activated- turns shutter noise off, turns brightness to max.

    New>Application>Camera
    +>Display>Auto Brightness- set off
    +>Audio>System Volume- level 0
    +>Display>Display Brightness- level 255
    Done

    What it does: Display a pop up with the received message and sender's number (it will even wake display and show message if phone is locked)

    New>Event>Phone>Received SMS
    Sender: (leave blank)
    Message: (leave blank)
    +>Alert>Popup-
    Title: %SMSRF
    Text: %SMSRB
    Time: 38 (will display for 38 seconds but you dismiss it with the back button)
    Done
    Done

    What it does: LED blinks when call is missed and screen is locked

    +>New>Event>Phone>Missed Call
    +>Notify LED
    Title: Missed Call
    Text: (none)
    Coulour: Red (or whatever you want)
    Rate: 500
    Done
    Done

    I know these are very simple but I just figured I would post them. Whats the harm.
  9. Junior Droid
    gott.eric's Avatar
    Member #
    100601
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Droid X
    #59
    Here's at least the list of variables that are built in and a bit about user defined variables:

    Tasker: Variables
  10. Junior Droid
    gott.eric's Avatar
    Member #
    100601
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Droid X
    #60
    Also, I have been trying to figure out how to do get this task to work: I want a way to (without having a widget just sit on my homescreen) record audio from calls by doing something like hitting a button and be able to stop the recording. The issue I'm having, though, is that you can't combine event contexts and for some reason the phone being off the hook is an event and not a state… Any thoughts?
Page 6 of 108 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 16 56 106 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Android Application Tasker
    By RW-1 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 12-27-2010, 12:02 PM
  2. How to set up Tasker
    By Tbone9191 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 08:39 AM
  3. Locale/Tasker using calendar?
    By harrellj in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 05:39 PM
  4. Using Tasker + Good Morning as an ultimate personal assistant
    By jamsesh in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 01:00 PM

Search tags for this page

android tasker examples

,
android tasker profiles
,

best tasker profiles

,
how to use tasker
,
tasker android examples
,

tasker examples

,
tasker forums
,

tasker profiles

,
tasker scenes
,
what have you done with tasker
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+