DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: noob market question

  1. Droid
    Prodigy4's Avatar
    Member #
    8389
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Much Love To The SFC
    Posts
    45
    Phone
    Moto Droid...cmon now
    #1

    noob market question

    so just had a quick question....when you are on the android marketplace? is that using your data plan? and by that i mean, let's just say you didn't have a data plan with it, would you be charged by surfing the marketplace?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    markmicallef's Avatar
    Member #
    7366
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    291
    Phone
    Droid X
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Prodigy4 View Post
    so just had a quick question....when you are on the android marketplace? is that using your data plan? and by that i mean, let's just say you didn't have a data plan with it, would you be charged by surfing the marketplace?
    I thought you had to have a data plan. Why have the droid w/out a data plan?
    ~Mark

    Samsung Galaxy S III
  4. Droid
    Prodigy4's Avatar
    Member #
    8389
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Much Love To The SFC
    Posts
    45
    Phone
    Moto Droid...cmon now
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by markmicallef View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Prodigy4 View Post
    so just had a quick question....when you are on the android marketplace? is that using your data plan? and by that i mean, let's just say you didn't have a data plan with it, would you be charged by surfing the marketplace?
    I thought you had to have a data plan. Why have the droid w/out a data plan?

    just as a hypothetical.
  5. Senior Droid
    silverx10's Avatar
    Member #
    7876
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    199
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola DROID
    #4
    Though I can't say for certain as I share markmicallef's sentiment, I'd assume that you would be charged data fees, because apps are data, and thus... well, there you go.
    "The only verdict is vengence; a vendetta, held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and voracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous."
  6. Super Moderator
    Martin030908's Avatar
    Member #
    248
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    8,836
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #5
    at 2.99 per mb (or is it 1.99) of data you're gonna rack up quite a bill without an unlimited plan. mere thought of it makes me cringe
  7. Senior Droid
    silverx10's Avatar
    Member #
    7876
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    199
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Motorola DROID
    #6
    Aye, I concur.

    Like unlimited texting, the data plan just makes sense.
    "The only verdict is vengence; a vendetta, held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and voracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous."
  8. Droid
    Mojoman's Avatar
    Member #
    10879
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    I just purchased the Droid today and was told you have to have the data plan or you cannot purchase the phone, with the contract price of course.
  9. Super Moderator
    Martin030908's Avatar
    Member #
    248
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    8,836
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Mojoman View Post
    I just purchased the Droid today and was told you have to have the data plan or you cannot purchase the phone, with the contract price of course.
    All smartphones... not just the Droid now require data plans. Way of the industry.
  10. Master Droid
    medicTHREE's Avatar
    Member #
    516
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    463
    Liked
    1 times
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Mojoman View Post
    I just purchased the Droid today and was told you have to have the data plan or you cannot purchase the phone, with the contract price of course.
    Contract or not, if you say have a blackberry or a xv6700 and go to add it to your account on the web, it won;t do it unless you add a data plan. You Must have a data plan.
  11. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Prodigy4 View Post
    so just had a quick question....when you are on the android marketplace? is that using your data plan? and by that i mean, let's just say you didn't have a data plan with it, would you be charged by surfing the marketplace?
    Hypothetically yes. The data for the Marketplace isn't stored in your device. Nor is it transferred to the Droid via magic.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Noob Emulator Question
    By Prodigy4 in forum Android Games
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 01:46 PM
  2. Another Noob
    By GeekWife in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-17-2009, 08:31 PM
  3. Noob Question - Tranferring Pics from PC
    By procrastinator in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-15-2009, 07:35 AM
  4. noob question on droid please help
    By 917mgte in forum Android Audio and Video
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 11:02 AM
  5. Noob from So Cal
    By Dozer in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2009, 08:56 PM

Search tags for this page

noob market

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+