DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: XBOX Live Through Tethering PDANET OSX?

  1. Droid
    Arsenalc08's Avatar
    Member #
    24835
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    Post XBOX Live Through Tethering PDANET OSX?

    Hope this hasn't been asked before... but I wanted to know if anyone had an idea on how to connect to Xbox Live using a macbook and pdanet for tethering?

    I've gotten it to see the ip but I'm having trouble with the DNS.

    Thanks in advance
  2. Droid
    Arsenalc08's Avatar
    Member #
    24835
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #2
    Help would be greatly appreciated =(
  3. Droid Sensei
    JhankG's Avatar
    Member #
    250
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Summerfield, NC
    Posts
    3,098
    Phone
    Droid X
    #3
    You're asking to get caught by Verzion if you do that. Too much data will cause a red flag. The more folks that do things like this, the more likely Verizon is to start capping our regular data plans.
  4. Droid
    Arsenalc08's Avatar
    Member #
    24835
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #4
    Alrighty, awesome...

    So anyone else?
  5. Premium Member
    Backnblack's Avatar
    Member #
    6311
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    11,279
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    Premium Member
    #5
    If it does work, I'd be surprised if it's actually playable....
    A gun in the hand is better than a cop on the phone.

    Only the Skilled Survive

    A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.

    Drill Sergeant Frick's Rules For Un-armed Combat.
    1. Never be unarmed.
    2. See Rule #1

    USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.



  6. Droid
    Arsenalc08's Avatar
    Member #
    24835
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    Plenty of people have got it to work, and many of them report they have pretty good ping and frame rates

    Plus 3g in my area is great.

    So... anyone?
  7. Droid
    pockets's Avatar
    Member #
    10631
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    65
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #7
    Have you briged your connection and allowed other devices to connect through to the internet?
  8. Droid
    Arsenalc08's Avatar
    Member #
    24835
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #8
    I think this will work, not sure but here is a tip for all of you.


    This hint will allow your Xbox to obtain its IP, DNS info, and so on from the Mac using DHCP. You need to have administrator privileges on the Mac in question, and the procedure is different on 10.4 vs. 10.5. (Presumably older systems were similar to 10.4, but I haven't tested on anything older than 10.4.10.).

    10.4:

    I haven't had much time to interact with the 10.4 machine I have access to, so I haven't tested this as much. Some variation on this procedure may be necessary to get the change to stick -- in particular, you may need to perform it more than once, or start and/or stop Internet Sharing before performing it. Also, the restart at the end may be unnecessary (though you do need to start and stop Internet Sharing somehow). Please post your experience in the comments, if someone hasn't already.
    Start Internet Sharing if it's not already running.
    Open NetInfo Manager, located in /Applications Utilities. Authenticate as an administrator using the lock icon in the lower-left.
    Navigate to the /config/dhcp node (so that dhcp is selected in the browser pane).
    In the lower pane, find the reply_threshold_seconds property and change its value from 4 to 0.
    Quit NetInfo Manager and then restart your Mac.
    After the restart, open NetInfo Manager again and confirm that reply_threshold_seconds is still 0.
    10.5:

    The following procedure is confirmed to work as written.
    Start Internet Sharing if it's not already running.
    In Terminal, type cp /etc/bootpd.plist /tmp/bootpd.plist
    Stop Internet Sharing.
    Open /tmp/bootpd.plist for editing using TextEdit or whatever.
    Locate this section of the file, near the end:
    <key>reply_threshold_seconds</key>
    <integer>4</integer>
    Change the value 4 to 0.
    In Terminal, type sudo cp /tmp/bootpd.plist /etc
    Start Internet Sharing.
    If you want to, check that your change to /etc/bootpd.plist hasn't been reverted.
  9. Master Droid
    beneharris's Avatar
    Member #
    20226
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    portland
    Posts
    318
    Phone
    droid
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by JhankG View Post
    You're asking to get caught by Verzion if you do that. Too much data will cause a red flag. The more folks that do things like this, the more likely Verizon is to start capping our regular data plans.
    actually it uses hardly any data at all. watching videos on youtube through your phone uses more.

    at least this is what i've found with COD.

    you have to bridge the connection, but i don't think you can with pdanet because it is set up as a modem. if you use wireless tethering, you can bridge the connection with an ethernet cable to your xbox (or in my case ps3)
  10. Droid
    Arsenalc08's Avatar
    Member #
    24835
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #10
    I am bridging the connection, but it wont connect after setting up the ip and dns info. I must've had something wrong and I think my last post is going to help a lot
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Need help with tethering on a mac PDAnet
    By chomorro in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-12-2011, 09:19 AM
  2. Using PdaNet to play Xbox Live!!
    By Big Lou in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 06-22-2011, 10:14 PM
  3. Need help with tethering on a mac PDAnet
    By chomorro in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 08-15-2010, 12:01 PM
  4. USB Tethering without PDANet?
    By CKyle22 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-14-2010, 05:02 AM
  5. Xbox live coming soon!
    By Eddroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 02:31 AM

Search tags for this page

hot to play xbox live on pdanet mac
,
how to connect to xbox live using tethering
,
how to connect to xbox live with pdanet for mac
,
pda net dsn numbers
,
pdanet tether to xbox 360
,
pdanet to xbox 360 from mac
,
pdanet to xbox live mac
,
pdanet xbox 360
,

pdanet xbox live mac

,
sharing pdanet tethered internet mac
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+