DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Titanium Backup question/problem

  1. Master Droid
    hobby31's Avatar
    Member #
    7450
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    299
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    DROID
    #1

    Titanium Backup question/problem

    I just downloaded and tried this app today as I've been flashing different ROMS. I used it while running my favorite rom which had all my apps on it and then installed a different rom I wanted to try and tried a restore but I keep getting the error message:

    Parse Error
    There is a problem parsing the package.

    Anybody know what that means?

    Thanks in advance...
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    ohioDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    26408
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    310
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #2
    I am trying out the Froyo release, and have a nandroid backup of my previous state (stock 2.1 rooted). I used Titanium Backup on EVERYTHING, and then installed Froyo, but now I can't restore any apps or data.

    When I go to restore an app, I get the same error about parsing.

    When I go to restore the data alone on an installed app, the app in question will Force Close immediately upon opening.

    Any ideas? This would help switching roms be a LOT easier for those of us with these issues...
  4. Senior Droid
    Luxferro's Avatar
    Member #
    4352
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    104
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by ohioDroid View Post
    I am trying out the Froyo release, and have a nandroid backup of my previous state (stock 2.1 rooted). I used Titanium Backup on EVERYTHING, and then installed Froyo, but now I can't restore any apps or data.

    When I go to restore an app, I get the same error about parsing.

    When I go to restore the data alone on an installed app, the app in question will Force Close immediately upon opening.

    Any ideas? This would help switching roms be a LOT easier for those of us with these issues...
    you need busybox for titanium to work. the froyo build that came out the other day doesn't have it. google how to install it manually.
  5. Master Droid
    ohioDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    26408
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    310
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Luxferro View Post

    you need busybox for titanium to work. the froyo build that came out the other day doesn't have it. google how to install it manually.
    There's a thread on here that talks about how to root, install busybox, etc.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dro...-boot-ani.html

    I followed the instructions (using another busybox binary I found)... When I did so, though, I didn't get an error but got 'busybox couldn't find this command, couldn't find that command' at the "busybox --install ." part of this.

    Code:
    BusyBox
    download busybox binary to your adb  tools directory
    http://www.alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=709
    cd to your adb tools directory
    adb push busybox /data/local/busybox
    adb shell
    su
    cd /data/local
    chmod 755 busybox
    ./busybox
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    mkdir /system/xbin
    /data/local/busybox cp /data/local/busybox /system/xbin
    /data/local/busybox cp /data/local/busybox /system/bin
    cd /system/xbin
    busybox --install .
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
  6. Master Droid
    ohioDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    26408
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    310
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #5
    Installing the busybox that's included with Titanium Backup and then backing up all of the apps using LZO compression did the trick.
  7. him
    him is offline
    Senior Droid
    him's Avatar
    Member #
    12218
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    144
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    that or the blackdroid version of froyo has it done automatically.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. titanium backup
    By Matth3w in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-20-2013, 04:39 AM
  2. Question about the camera problem
    By XMasterMoronX in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 07:31 AM
  3. Nandroid Backup/restore question
    By harpjames35 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-27-2010, 09:41 AM
  4. Application Backup Question
    By rotordroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 11:03 AM
  5. Nandroid Backup Question
    By jphudy in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-04-2010, 01:49 PM

Search tags for this page

parse error titanium backup
,
problem parsing the package titanium backup
,
there is a problem parsing the package titanium backup
,
titanium backup error parsing package
,

titanium backup parse error

,

titanium backup problem parsing the package

,
titanium backup there is a problem parsing the package
,

titanium backup there was a problem parsing the package

,

what does problem parsing the package mean

,

what does there is a problem parsing the package mean

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+