DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Need a Little Help With Swype Install

  1. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #1

    Need a Little Help With Swype Install

    I've got it located in Astro File Manager but I can't figure out how to install the darn thing. This is what I've done: Loaded the file, unzipped it and put on my desktop. Mounted my Droid moved file to Device Card. Went to applications, made sure unknown sources were check. Located the file on Astro.

    I just don't see how to install. What am I missing here?

    Thanks.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  2. Super Moderator
    Corinacakes's Avatar
    Member #
    5472
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    5,033
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    DrOiD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #2
    click on the file in astro and a popup will say browse file or open app manager. click open app manager then hit install
    *~*Corinacakes*~*

    -Keep your political and religious views off this forum.
    -We are here to have fun and learn, so please try and keep it that way for everyone!




    If you like my work and would like to help get my nails done I'd love it!
  3. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Corinacakes View Post
    click on the file in astro and a popup will say browse file or open app manager. click open app manager then hit install
    Corinacakes thank you. I swear I went there 50 times and did not see the install button but this time I hit open app manager and there was the install button. Easy as cake.

    I knew I was just missing something somewhere. Now lets see if I like this.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Super Moderator
    Corinacakes's Avatar
    Member #
    5472
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    5,033
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    DrOiD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #4
    Yur gonna like it hook let me tell you now some tricks so you dont get frustrated. to put an apostrophe in a word (use it's for example) swype i....t....swype down to the apostrophe then swype to the s. voila'! to capitalize a word.... hit the first letter of the word then swype way up till you see the keyboard letters switch to uppercase then continue swyping the rest of the word without releasing yur finger. any other questions just ask me. i really want you to like it yur one of my favs in here

    EDIT: dont forget to go to settings....keyboard and check the box for swype
    Last edited by Corinacakes; 01-02-2010 at 06:32 AM.
    *~*Corinacakes*~*

    -Keep your political and religious views off this forum.
    -We are here to have fun and learn, so please try and keep it that way for everyone!




    If you like my work and would like to help get my nails done I'd love it!
  5. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Corinacakes View Post
    Yur gonna like it hook let me tell you now some tricks so you dont get frustrated. to put an apostrophe in a word (use it's for example) swype i....t....swype down to the apostrophe then swype to the s. voila'! to capitalize a word.... hit the first letter of the word then swype way up till you see the keyboard letters switch to uppercase then continue swyping the rest of the word without releasing yur finger. any other questions just ask me. i really want you to like it yur one of my favs in here

    EDIT: dont forget to go to settings....keyboard and check the box for swype
    Right now it's frustrating me a bit. I tried to do the caps the way you say but that makes more errors. I think I'll just hit the caps button first. Putting an apostrophe in I'm was darn near impossible, I had to say "I am."

    Everybody says its great so I'll give it a chance at the very least.

    Thanks for your kind words, it's appreciated. I like you too.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  6. Droid
    phreakaj's Avatar
    Member #
    4971
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    91
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #6
    Has anyone else been curious about if a keyboard app needs to be over 9 mb's?? Maybe I'm just being paranoid but that made me wonder if it needed to be that big.
  7. Super Moderator
    Corinacakes's Avatar
    Member #
    5472
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    5,033
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    DrOiD
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #7
    yeeeup just give it time i haven't seen anyone yet want to get rid of it after using it for awhile. i switched back like 2 hours after i installed it and found myself swyping the stock keyboard lol that's how fast it locks into yur brain so i went back to it and luv it
    *~*Corinacakes*~*

    -Keep your political and religious views off this forum.
    -We are here to have fun and learn, so please try and keep it that way for everyone!




    If you like my work and would like to help get my nails done I'd love it!
  8. Droid
    webby's Avatar
    Member #
    588
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    58
    Phone
    G1, Droid1, Incredible
    #8
    Take the Swype tutorial (hold down the bottom left key with the wavy blue line in it) -- it will really help you with the learning curve. I have taken it two or three times now. I was making a lot of mistakes with the droid physical keyboard -- I had a G1 for a year, and did very well with that keyboard, but I guess my fingers are too fat for the close-together keys of the droid keyboard.

    Now I use the Swype keyboard 100% of the tiime. I never use the physical keyboard. And I am getting faster with it as I use it more. It is very well designed and works very well. You just have to get thru the learning curve.
  9. Junior Droid
    Scott Hanna's Avatar
    Member #
    14774
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #9
    Agreed. Just been using it a few days and it is dramatically faster. The caps works very well once you know how.

    I read the tips a lot too. Great tip yesterday...Once the word box comes up, the word on top will be used if you keep typing, no need to select it.
  10. Master Droid
    billyidle's Avatar
    Member #
    12498
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    419
    Phone
    Droid
    #10
    Anyway to only use Swype in portrait? And use the Android keyboard in landscape?
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. swype over 9mb??
    By phreakaj in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-02-2010, 11:33 AM
  2. Swype and 2.1 Update
    By arty2hottie in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-31-2009, 12:06 PM
  3. Swype for Droid
    By samiusmc in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 03:17 PM
  4. Swype anyone?
    By CKyle22 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 11:52 AM
  5. Swype Available For Download Here
    By garrett in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 12:36 PM

Search tags for this page

astro manager swype
,
how to get swype with astro file manager
,
how to install swype on htc incredible
,
how to install swype on incredible 2
,

how to install swype on thunderbolt

,
how to put swype htc incredible
,
how to put swype on htc
,
how to put swype on incredible 2
,
htz resound how to set swype
,

swype setup

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+