DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Another Handcent question

  1. Master Droid
    jigsawkilr's Avatar
    Member #
    9478
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    284
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Another Handcent question

    Ok, I tried the search but after digging through a ton of post I still didn't find an answer. I am not a big handcent fan but I do like being able to send a text message to several people and scroll through my contacts and pick them without having to type each name or number. This is the third time I have tried this app. Unfortunately there isn't another app that will do this. My problem is that when I receive a message it would only show a number, not a name. I have so many contacts there is no way I can remember everyones number so how do you make handcent show the name of the caller and not just the number?

    Also, this question has been beat to death but why does it still send the messages to both handcent and the default messenger. I turned of notifications on the default messenger as well as the auto-retrieve but I still get double messages. Can someone shed some light on this subject?

    Thanks for everyones help. Again, I apologize for asking the same old question. It seems that if so many people are having this problem why don't they fix the issue so you have this.
    Follow me twitter.com/jigsawkilr



    "When you are in hell....only the devil can help you out"

  2. Super Moderator
    Martin030908's Avatar
    Member #
    248
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    8,836
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #2
    I was just checking thru Handcent for something to help out but I came up with nothing.(can't replicate the issue).
    for me.... All texts are labeled with the contacts name
    and you shouldn't be receiving messages thru the stock app since you disabled them.
  3. Senior Droid
    Benjamin Crist's Avatar
    Member #
    12944
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    124
    Phone
    Motorla A855
    #3
    When I tried Handcent I had messages in both, I had thought it was a shared database for SMS messages that both applications accessed. That's a total guess though.

    I am pretty sure Handcent showed the names. I actually like the stock look of messages much better. The only thing I liked about Handcent was the speech to text ability, but I found I can type much faster anyway, so it was more of a "this is cool" ability than anything.

    Note:

    The stock application for SMS WILL contact more than one person. In case you didn't realize this, I looked at my phone and figured it out, so here ya go (not sure if this helps your needs or not):

    1) Make a new "conversation" by going to the list of conversations and then select compose a message.

    2) in the field that says to, start typing the name of the contact (I found a few letters was enough to see both the name and phone number of the contact) and then select it from the menu that pops up

    3) you'll note there is a comma after the contact you just entered. If you start typing another contact, you'll have the same search of contacts performed and you can select another contact and the phone will put in another comma so you can keep adding contacts

    Maybe that will help you, maybe not, but figured I would throw it out in case it does!
  4. Senior Droid
    Stormy Knight's Avatar
    Member #
    2899
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Moto X 32GB
    #4

    Handcent

    Are you having trouble forwarding texts to multiple people or creating a text to send to multiple people?

    I don't have access to my phone at the moment as I'm at work in an area where cell phones are prohibited so I can't do the play-by-play to send an original text to multiple people.

    However, I can help you with forwarding to multiple contacts. Select the text message you want to send by pressing it with your finger until a window opens up. One of the options is FORWARD. Select that and the blue plus sign will appear. Hit that and you can select however many people in your contact list to send the message to.
  5. Master Droid
    jigsawkilr's Avatar
    Member #
    9478
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    284
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    Text are sending and receiving fine in both Handcent and Default. I was just wandering why it is only showing numbers and not manes? Kinda weird to me. I looked and in default there is a name but handcent just a number. Oh well, any other ideas?

    BC- Thank you. I did know that already but what I liked about handcent was the ability to scroll through contacts and check everyone I wanted to send it to.

    SK- I'm a assuming that when you mentioned te blue X you are referring to handcent? I don't see that in the default messenger.
    Follow me twitter.com/jigsawkilr



    "When you are in hell....only the devil can help you out"

  6. Junior Droid
    ejbaca03's Avatar
    Member #
    3643
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Droid, BB Curve
    #6
    You might want to uninstall Handcent and reinstall it. I had a problem like that with an older version and I think that is what fixed my issue.
  7. Master Droid
    jigsawkilr's Avatar
    Member #
    9478
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    284
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    ej, I will try it. Why not. If it still doesn't work I can uninstall it.
    Follow me twitter.com/jigsawkilr



    "When you are in hell....only the devil can help you out"

  8. Senior Droid
    Benjamin Crist's Avatar
    Member #
    12944
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    124
    Phone
    Motorla A855
    #8
    You are most welcome. I hope you figure it out.
  9. Senior Droid
    viperboy's Avatar
    Member #
    14334
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    181
    Phone
    Motorola Droid BB v.4
    #9
    Does this happen with the regular messaging app? It could be that you don't have your phone set to show all your contacts...

    Go to Contacts > Menu > Display Options. Tap on your GMail account and check all the boxes. Click Done and back out. All of your contacts should be there
  10. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #10
    Off topic but about handcent.... can you lock a message so you can delete a thread but not one message like with the stck app?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Handcent question
    By calicocal in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 08:26 PM
  2. Handcent question
    By Daywalker in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 05:18 PM
  3. Handcent Question
    By uscjoel in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 07:14 PM
  4. Handcent Question
    By OMEGA5 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-27-2009, 08:34 PM
  5. handcent question
    By mhareu in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-26-2009, 01:47 PM

Search tags for this page

can you lock messages with handcent
,

handcent lock message

,
handcent lock messages
,

handcent locked messages

,
how to get to locked messages on handsent messenger
,
how to view locked messages handcent
,
how to view locked messages on handcent
,
lock message handcent
,
locked messages on handcent
,
where's my locked messages in handcent sms
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+