DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ok, so I want to develop an app...

Member #
    Phone
    Droid Razr

Ok, so I want to develop an app...

But I'm not a programmer, I've never coded anything before, and I have a very very very basic knowledge of HTML programing. And when I say "basic", I mean, I can put something together in Dreamweaver and then go into the code part and read it and kinda see where it makes the page look the way it does. Maybe even edit a line or two. I don't even think that HTML matters in Android development because I'm reading that its based on Java.

Okay, with that background, is there a step-by-step guide to learning how to code for Android? Is the Android Dev site the place I should go for that or is there another tutorial that might be helpful?

Thanks.
  2. Droid Sensei
    Member #
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    SGS3
    No offense but you're pretty screwed... You need to be fairly well versed in Java to make a good app (even a very basic app is going to require moderate java skills). You're best bet is to pick up some Java books and start with the basics. There are not really any 'coding for Android' books (well, no good ones worth the money)... Get a basic understanding of Java and then pick-up a book on the Android OS (there are a few) and you'll be able to put it together... or take a class (there was one link from a few days ago offering a free online course, but again, you need to already know Java)... Good luck...
    You are right to be wary. There is much bullcrap. Be wary of me too, because I may be wrong. Make up your own mind after you evaluate all the evidence and the logic. - Mark Rippetoe
  3. Droid Ninja
    Member #
    Phone
    Incredible Droid
    This is like saying, I want to do heart surgery on my wife, but I'm not a doctor, is there a book I can read first?

lmao
  4. Droid
    Member #